Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-20-2011, 02:56 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 18
Share |
Default

If my house is on wooden stilts I dont need GFCI right


since my house is lifted off the ground with wood stilts, GFCI is useless right? makes sense to me I'm sure NEC's opinion would differ these days tho.


Last edited by bluemoonshine; 03-20-2011 at 02:58 AM.
bluemoonshine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2011, 03:04 AM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 18
Default

If my house is on wooden stilts I dont need GFCI right


infact the entire ground conductor system is pointless for a house like this right? wouldn't it add to the risk by providing a ground? lol

bluemoonshine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2011, 03:52 AM   #3
Scared Electrician
 
Saturday Cowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 715
Default

If my house is on wooden stilts I dont need GFCI right


NO! You still need Ground Fault protection
__________________
Ragged Trousered Philanthropist


Please follow the code - its there for your safety no matter how inconvenient.
Saturday Cowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2011, 06:38 AM   #4
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Default

If my house is on wooden stilts I dont need GFCI right


Does mine?

DM
Attached Thumbnails
If my house is on wooden stilts I dont need GFCI right-2.jpg  
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2011, 06:46 AM   #5
DIY staff
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kane county,Illinois
Posts: 21,403
Default

If my house is on wooden stilts I dont need GFCI right


Wooden shoes were popular in Holland 200 years ago----ancient records revealed that there were no electrocution deaths in Dutch houses during the 1700s.
__________________
New members: Adding your location to your profile helps in many ways.--M--
oh'mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2011, 07:01 AM   #6
Pretending to be Retired
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Central Kentucky
Posts: 108
Default

If my house is on wooden stilts I dont need GFCI right


Quote:
Originally Posted by oh'mike View Post
Wooden shoes were popular in Holland 200 years ago----ancient records revealed that there were no electrocution deaths in Dutch houses during the 1700s.

True, oh how true that was, but....what about termites issues?
BigD9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2011, 07:06 AM   #7
DIY staff
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kane county,Illinois
Posts: 21,403
Default

If my house is on wooden stilts I dont need GFCI right


They simply stomped on them.
__________________
New members: Adding your location to your profile helps in many ways.--M--
oh'mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2011, 07:07 AM   #8
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Default

If my house is on wooden stilts I dont need GFCI right


Ancient records also reveal no termites were electrocuted in Dutch houses during the 1700s.

DM
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to DangerMouse For This Useful Post:
oh'mike (03-20-2011)
Old 03-20-2011, 10:27 AM   #9
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 3,972
Default

If my house is on wooden stilts I dont need GFCI right


Me thinks he drinks too much of his namesake or he is a troll trying to get a rise out of us
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina

Last edited by rjniles; 03-20-2011 at 10:33 AM.
rjniles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2011, 10:30 AM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,503
Default

If my house is on wooden stilts I dont need GFCI right


Quote:
Originally Posted by bluemoonshine View Post
since my house is lifted off the ground with wood stilts, GFCI is useless right? makes sense to me I'm sure NEC's opinion would differ these days tho.
You are joking right? What makes you think this? Where do expect ground faults to go? They gotta go somewhere. If you do not provide this path, you just might become the path yourself. Of course this can happen in any house.

GFCI's do not require a grounding conductor to work. They do require a grounded conductor to work. So yes, you would need GFCI protection just the same as any other structure.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2011, 07:27 PM   #11
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Default

If my house is on wooden stilts I dont need GFCI right


Quote:
Originally Posted by DangerMouse View Post
Does mine?

DM
Nope, the NEC doesn't apply to total solar power in isolate atmosphere. You also don't need a GEC BTW, you didn't say which country your house was over
a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2011, 07:29 PM   #12
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Default

If my house is on wooden stilts I dont need GFCI right


Quote:
Originally Posted by bluemoonshine View Post
since my house is lifted off the ground with wood stilts, GFCI is useless right? makes sense to me I'm sure NEC's opinion would differ these days tho.
And why do you feel this is true? Were you exempt from a grounding electrode
a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2011, 12:42 AM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 18
Default

If my house is on wooden stilts I dont need GFCI right


Quote:
Originally Posted by a7ecorsair View Post
And why do you feel this is true? Were you exempt from a grounding electrode
lol.. my house has a fine ground system, I didn't know gfci's worked without the ground but that does make sence. I guess if the GFCI failed it's still better to get electrocuted from the hand through leg to ground and hopefully miss vitals, rather than hand to hand and through the heart.

Ofcourse I still use the ground.. I tend to go a bit overboard with safety usually. I'm actually thinking about putting my whole workshop on a 50amp GFCI to the subpanel, but a little worried about nusiance tripping with the fridge and everything its like a small house too
bluemoonshine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2011, 09:57 AM   #14
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,501
Default

If my house is on wooden stilts I dont need GFCI right


Quote:
it's still better to get electrocuted from the hand through leg to ground and hopefully miss vitals, rather than hand to hand and through the heart.
Electrocution means death from electric shock. Would it really matter the path it took? Either route would have the same result if you were electorcuted.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2011, 10:16 AM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,503
Default

If my house is on wooden stilts I dont need GFCI right


Quote:
Originally Posted by bluemoonshine View Post
lol.. my house has a fine ground system, I didn't know gfci's worked without the ground but that does make sence. I guess if the GFCI failed it's still better to get electrocuted from the hand through leg to ground and hopefully miss vitals, rather than hand to hand and through the heart.

Ofcourse I still use the ground.. I tend to go a bit overboard with safety usually. I'm actually thinking about putting my whole workshop on a 50amp GFCI to the subpanel, but a little worried about nusiance tripping with the fridge and everything its like a small house too
Putting a shop on a 50 amp GFCI breaker would be a waste of money, when you could install a sub panel with a standard breaker and use GFCI's as required by code.

J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Old House Rewire finnimus Electrical 15 05-13-2011 10:39 PM
dealing with exterior slope towards house. organick Building & Construction 26 03-19-2011 02:57 PM
Wiring Size Calculations for New Service CorinthWest Electrical 7 12-07-2010 11:36 AM
Old wooden supports in basement of 2 family 100+ year old house ytorrie Building & Construction 2 06-03-2008 06:31 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.