Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-15-2011, 08:59 AM   #1
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 23,446
Share |
Default

If I were going to


run a line(10-3 UF) above ground from a house to a garage a distance of rough;y 95 foot.And sink 2-4X4s at equal distances. What is the better way to fasten/support the wire to.from the 4X4s?
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2011, 09:22 AM   #2
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,674
Default

If I were going to


Is this temporary? Personally I would NOT do it this way permanently.

To secure to the posts you should screw in some porcelain lag insulators and lash the cable to them using something like pieces of #10 solid. I would not wrap the cable around the insulator. Just pass it through the opening and secure it with the piece of wire.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2011, 09:26 AM   #3
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 23,446
Default

If I were going to


Thanks. Its not my idea to be above ground. The guy doesn't want to wait for the ground to thaw. And wants my help. I said I'd check on it.

He needs some electric to have lights to work with.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2011, 09:26 AM   #4
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 445
Default

If I were going to


I agree with Pete. I'd bury it or use quadriplex on 6x6 posts. If you want to do it your way, check article 225 and the one in the 300's on Messenger Supported Wiring (sorry don't have code book handy).

Mark
busman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2011, 10:22 AM   #5
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 3,664
Default

If I were going to


Digging the post holes will be no fun in the frozen ground. If this is truly temporary until the ground thaws enough to trench; why not lay PVC conduit on the ground and pull in THWN wire? After trenching you could pull out the the THWN, bury the same conduit and reuse the THWN.

I assume the 10-3 UF you were planning on using is only temporary as that would only allow a 30 amp sub-panel.
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2011, 11:11 AM   #6
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 12,908
Default

If I were going to


Electric thawing blanket would work in thawing, or very sharp shovel and a whole lot of cussing.
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2011, 12:54 PM   #7
Electrical Supplier
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Dayton, OH
Posts: 205
Default

If I were going to


Its not up to code so as long as you arent getting it inspected you are fine.

UF is not rated for overhead drops(UF=Underground Feeder aka direct burial), you need to use quadruplex. Second, you must meet a minimum distance above ground for what the area below is being used for.

as far as fastening it, I would just use some Romex staples 1.25 inchers or so........Its not safe either way might as well do it cheap.
__________________
"Do it right the first time and avoid duplication of effort"

Your AHJ/Inspectors ALWAYS have the final say on ANY electrical code issue.
If in doubt, contact a licensed, experienced, reputable electrician to perform the work.
LyonsElecSupply is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2011, 12:57 PM   #8
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 12,908
Default

If I were going to


Not to drift off topic, but this thread brings this to light:


Downed power line kills 3 in San Bernardino

A father died while investigating why the 12,000-volt line fell in the backyard and his wife and her son were killed when they tried to help.
http://www.latimes.com/news/local/la...,5748631.story
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2011, 01:00 PM   #9
Electrical Supplier
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Dayton, OH
Posts: 205
Default

If I were going to


Uninsulated conductors FTW!
__________________
"Do it right the first time and avoid duplication of effort"

Your AHJ/Inspectors ALWAYS have the final say on ANY electrical code issue.
If in doubt, contact a licensed, experienced, reputable electrician to perform the work.
LyonsElecSupply is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2011, 01:32 PM   #10
Wire Chewer
 
Red Squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,189
Default

If I were going to


Do you need more then 15 amps right now? I would just run a heavy duty extension cord temporarily. It's only going to be there for 4 months or so until the ground unthaws, so it should be ok. Then I'd just do an underground feed.

Last edited by Red Squirrel; 01-15-2011 at 03:51 PM.
Red Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2011, 04:51 PM   #11
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 23,446
Default

If I were going to


Quote:
Originally Posted by Red Squirrel View Post
Do you need more then 15 amps right now? I would just run a heavy duty extension cord temporarily. It's only going to be there for 4 months or so until the ground unthaws, so it should be ok. Then I'd just do an underground feed.

I tried talking him into doing that. But for some reason, he can't wait(always wants everything done now, no matter what).

So I'm kind of stuck doing it now.

He has helped me move in the past a couple times. And is more reliable then most of my relatives when it comes to helping me. So I can't really refuse. Without burning a bridge.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2011, 05:35 PM   #12
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 12,908
Default

If I were going to


I would drop the cord, lay some 2x6's next to it, and nail some ply over the sleepers to protect until Spring thaw. If you can drive the spikes to hold down the wood until you can get a warm enough period to bury the line or Conduit.
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2011, 06:08 PM   #13
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 445
Default

If I were going to


Quote:
Originally Posted by LyonsElecSupply View Post
UF is not rated for overhead drops(UF=Underground Feeder aka direct burial), you need to use quadruplex.
UF cable can be strung between poles. See code sections on Messenger Supported Wiring.

Mark
busman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2011, 08:00 PM   #14
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Default

If I were going to


beenthere; is this going to get installed right come spring or is this the final installation?


btw; do not use an aerial cable for a dog run. There is a story floating around about a woman that did. Killed the dog, her, and her kid if it's true.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2011, 08:32 PM   #15
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 23,446
Default

If I were going to


It will be permanent.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.