Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-13-2012, 07:30 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Carrollton, Texas USA
Posts: 69
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Identifing Circuits/Associated Breaker


A while back I posted a question about having a large house and needing to replace all the wall receptacles. Got a ton of replies but while in the HD, picking up some Behr Paint/Primer <BG> saw a Klein tool that has a transmitter that you plug into outlets and then scan the panel and it beeps when it finds it. Yahoo, it works and I can do it myself, would be better with a helper.

For the DIY'er if may be a tool than can help you out. It was a Klien ET300 and I have already started replacing outlets identified with the tool. One room done and well lots to go.

Wondering if anyone else uses this and any tips would be appreciated?

pinkfloyd43 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 07:42 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: WV
Posts: 277
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Identifing Circuits/Associated Breaker


I've used one before with great sucess. Worked perfectly

speedster1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 09:15 PM   #3
Field Service
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Chicago
Posts: 148
Rewards Points: 2
Default

Identifing Circuits/Associated Breaker


Quote:
Originally Posted by pinkfloyd43 View Post
Wondering if anyone else uses this and any tips would be appreciated?
I've used one, and they're not too bad. Just like inductive testers, they're not to be considered a definitive measure. Always check the outlet for power after throwing the breaker.
diystephen is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 09:23 PM   #4
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,340
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Identifing Circuits/Associated Breaker


Best thing to do with those is once you suspect you have found the correct breaker, turn it off. The signal will stop and you will know you have found the correct breaker. If you do not have the right breaker, the signal will continue to tone out.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Well pump trips breaker at start, but then starts when breaker reset J. David Electrical 34 02-25-2012 11:23 AM
Outside breaker, inside main breaker panel, so is it a sub? CPF Electrical 29 02-01-2012 10:28 AM
Wiring Size Calculations for New Service CorinthWest Electrical 7 12-07-2010 11:36 AM
20 Amp Breaker tripping with GFCI panhandlion Electrical 7 12-12-2007 08:59 PM
Outdoor breaker panel questions lhoney2 Electrical 12 07-19-2007 05:44 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.