Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Closed Thread

Old 12-15-2010, 04:39 PM   #1

Share |

I wired a 240v subpanel, and none of the outlets work.......... Help! :)

Hi.

I'm an electrical novice, trained by Home Depot's salesman on how to do my job. :-)

Here is the panel I installed. It's attached to the main panel with a 240v 70amp circuit, with two blacks as hot and the green on the ground bus.

When I plug in my multimeter to the outlets under the panel, one hot to ground says 120v, the other hot to ground says 120v. All the outlets say the same thing. The top 8 outlets are on the top circuit, the bottom 8 on the bottom circuit.

When I plug in the appliance to the outlet, nothing works.

What did I do wrong? If you need more pictures, I can take as many as you need!

Thanks very much and may Santa be good to you.
Attached Thumbnails
I wired a 240v subpanel, and none of the outlets work..........  Help! :)-elec01.jpg  

Old 12-15-2010, 05:03 PM   #2

You are pulling off the same leg of the 240. Try wiring from top to bottom black, black, white, white,.

Old 12-15-2010, 05:12 PM   #3
nap
You talking to me?

first, you need to fix the code violations: individual conductors not in conduit; no connector in the box for the conduit or cable (5 violations I can see of that); the sheath on the NM needs to be stripped back leaving very little inside the panel (can't remember the actual dimension)

I'm sure there are others.

the big problem is: you only brought a 240 volt circuit to your panel. You need to bring a 120/240 volt circuit to the panel. You must bring a neutral to your panel to make this work.

the grounds need to be removed from the neutral bar and installed on a ground bar you have yet to install. Then, the neutrals from the panel supply as well as the neutrals to the receptacles connect to the neutral bar.