Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-16-2010, 06:47 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 3
Share |
Default

i want to tie into an existing outlet


http://s891.photobucket.com/albums/a...urrent=053.jpg ok these two pics are the outlet i want to tie into its an outside outlet i want to run power from it about 15 feet into another power outlet then into a switch that will operate a 40 watt fluorescent light. im not planning on running anything from the new outlet except a 1amp battery charger for my boat and of course the fluorescent light. i believe this is the last plug in the circuit because it only has one of each wire in the box. my question is were would i tie into it at. the same connections that the white and black are already hooked to? it has a slot available. or the empty ones at the bottom?


Last edited by treykelly84; 04-16-2010 at 07:02 PM.
treykelly84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2010, 07:20 PM   #2
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Default

i want to tie into an existing outlet


Hi and welcome. Outside outlet? Covered? Capped? GFCI?

DM

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2010, 07:44 PM   #3
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,361
Default

i want to tie into an existing outlet


From the looks of it, your existing outlet is a GFCI type.

Hooking your new lines into the terminals that are presently empty would give you downstream GFCI protection. Look at the back of the outlet: It's marked "Load"

You will have to connect the bare grounding wires together with a tail back to the outlet, since there is only one ground terminal on it.
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2010, 09:14 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 3
Default

i want to tie into an existing outlet


Quote:
Originally Posted by kbsparky View Post
From the looks of it, your existing outlet is a GFCI type.

Hooking your new lines into the terminals that are presently empty would give you downstream GFCI protection. Look at the back of the outlet: It's marked "Load"

You will have to connect the bare grounding wires together with a tail back to the outlet, since there is only one ground terminal on it.
ok so if i use the empty connections marked load ill have gfci protection. if i use the extra slots that are already wired and marked line ill only have protection from the breaker box correct? so if i tie in at the existing wires it wont interfere with anything? i plan on putting a gfci plug in the carport i want to wire
treykelly84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2010, 02:37 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 3
Default

i want to tie into an existing outlet


http://s891.photobucket.com/albums/ac113/beerbebud/?action=view&current=053-1.jpg
ok so i assume thats how i do it tie into the black and white pig tail the ground then run to the new plug then run the black to the switch then proceed to the light
treykelly84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Branching off existing circuit schnitz411 Electrical 13 03-14-2010 10:11 PM
Need to sink existing outlet boxes for new backsplash Stcrosby Electrical 14 02-08-2010 07:31 PM
Can i do this? tapping an existing outlet... nuf2BeDangerous Electrical 7 10-29-2009 05:10 PM
disposal switch from existing outlet wilderstyle Electrical 20 04-20-2009 06:33 PM
Drywalling an existing outlet? 1nonly Electrical 16 03-05-2007 01:54 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.