Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-02-2008, 12:56 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 101
Rewards Points: 75
Default

I want to put in a GFCI ckt.


Hello everyone

I am wiring basement and have come to the bathroom and kitchenette. I know I have to install a GFCI ckt in each. I was wondering if I can install a GFCI in those rooms from the 20 amp outlet circuitry that I will be installing. I only have 8 outlets on each. Since it(GFCI) has its own Ckt. breaker I cant see why this wouldnt work.

I mean you dont have to have Ckt breaker at service panel for the GFCI ckt. by itself do ya? What a waste! Seems redundant.

Thanks
luweee

luweee is offline  
Old 03-02-2008, 01:46 PM   #2
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

I want to put in a GFCI ckt.


THe bathroom needs a dedicated 20 amp circuit, 210.11(C)(3), I dont know if your kitchenette has cooking facilities or not, but if it does you would need to follow the 2 small appliance rule.

chris75 is offline  
Old 03-02-2008, 01:59 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 14
Rewards Points: 10
Default

I want to put in a GFCI ckt.


both the bathroom and kitchen should have seperate 20amp circuits
duke2043 is offline  
Old 03-02-2008, 02:27 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 101
Rewards Points: 75
Default

I want to put in a GFCI ckt.


what if the kitchette is acutally a bar. no cooking do you need gfci then?. ..... also if you are watching your watts .. can you legally put your fridge and Garbage disposal on the same ckt. 1000 watt fridge and 400 watt disposer?
luweee is offline  
Old 03-02-2008, 02:38 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 14
Rewards Points: 10
Default

I want to put in a GFCI ckt.


The fridge should be on it's own circuit,if the bar has a sink then that should be on a GFI.Make sure you do not have the fridge on GFI if it would trip and you do not know it then everything would go bad in fridge.The disposal should also be on its own circuit.By code your appliances should be on there own circuits.

Last edited by duke2043; 03-02-2008 at 02:41 PM.
duke2043 is offline  
Old 03-02-2008, 02:39 PM   #6
Res Ipsa Loquitur
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Southeastern PA
Posts: 363
Rewards Points: 250
Default

I want to put in a GFCI ckt.


Does the bar have a sink? Then you definitely need GFCI. Fridge and disposer on one? I wouldn't-- if the disposer would jam briefly and pop the breaker and you didn't realize it, you fridge would be defrosting.

A circuit for disposer and dishwasher together I have now. Fridge on its own circuit is recommended.
__________________
Did you ever stop to think, then forget to start again?
handyman78 is offline  
Old 03-02-2008, 02:53 PM   #7
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,860
Rewards Points: 2,514
Blog Entries: 4
Default

I want to put in a GFCI ckt.


You didn't post your location. If you are in Canada you need a separate circuit for the fridge unless it is a mini or bar fridge. In Canada you do not need a separate circuit for the bathroom.
joed is offline  
Old 03-02-2008, 02:59 PM   #8
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

I want to put in a GFCI ckt.


Quote:
Originally Posted by luweee View Post
what if the kitchette is acutally a bar. no cooking do you need gfci then?. ..... also if you are watching your watts .. can you legally put your fridge and Garbage disposal on the same ckt. 1000 watt fridge and 400 watt disposer?
Receptacles installed within 6 ft of the outside edge of a wet bar sink must also be GFCI-protected, As far as appliances go, yes you can easily put your fridge (non gfi protected) and your GD (non-gfi protected) on the same circuit, a 20 amp circuit can supply up to 2400 watts.
chris75 is offline  
Old 03-02-2008, 03:15 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 101
Rewards Points: 75
Default

I want to put in a GFCI ckt.


Im in Omaha NE

Okay fridge and disposer on one ckt. will this meet code?

back to the bathroom... you said 20 amp dedicated ckt? right/

for that bathroom can I put GFI's, lights and fan on that ckt?

Can the bar use the same GFI ckt? NO, cuz then it wouldnt be dedicated right?

HOW ABOUT IF I PUT THE BAR IN THE BATHROOM? JUST KIDDING GUYS.

I have 200 amp service panel .. house is 4 yrs old. how many ckts in a 200 amp ckt panel are allowed? 40? I may still need a subpanel... is this common?
Just currious how many amps are available in a residential location?
luweee is offline  
Old 03-02-2008, 03:28 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 14
Rewards Points: 10
Default

I want to put in a GFCI ckt.


The fridge should be on it's own circuit,if your panel is full I would suggest putting in subpanel that way if you need any circuits in the future you will have space.youcan also tie lights in with the bathrm circuit,if you have a recess light over bath or shower this needs to be GFCI protected.
duke2043 is offline  
Old 03-02-2008, 03:28 PM   #11
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

I want to put in a GFCI ckt.


Quote:
Originally Posted by luweee View Post
Im in Omaha NE

Okay fridge and disposer on one ckt. will this meet code?
Yes
Quote:
Originally Posted by luweee View Post
back to the bathroom... you said 20 amp dedicated ckt? right
for that bathroom can I put GFI's, lights and fan on that ckt?
As long as that 20 amp bath circuit does not leave the bathroom then yes you can install the lights and fan on that circuit
Quote:
Originally Posted by luweee View Post
Can the bar use the same GFI ckt? NO, cuz then it wouldnt be dedicated right?
correct


Quote:
Originally Posted by luweee View Post
I have 200 amp service panel .. house is 4 yrs old. how many ckts in a 200 amp ckt panel are allowed? 40? I may still need a subpanel... is this common?
Yes & Yes
chris75 is offline  
Old 03-02-2008, 03:29 PM   #12
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

I want to put in a GFCI ckt.


Quote:
Originally Posted by duke2043 View Post
you have a recess light over bath or shower this needs to be GFCI protected.
This is not required, and the fridge is a waste on its own circuit.
chris75 is offline  
Old 03-02-2008, 03:40 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 561
Rewards Points: 500
Default

I want to put in a GFCI ckt.


What kind of basement "kitchenette" with no cooking facilities needs a disposal?

If you want the correct answers, you need to describe the situation accurately. Try this:

"I am building a kitchenette in a basement apartment. What are my circuit requirements in regards to the refrig, disposal, and bathroom GFCI circuits?"

The CORRECT answers will be:

-1 20a circuit for the bathroom receptacle. Either GFCI protect the circuit or install a GFCI receptacle. This circuit cannot be used for anything outside of the bathroom.

-2 20a GFCI circuits for the kitchen"ETTE" countertop receptacles. You may use one of these circuits for the refrig, or you may opt to put the fridge on it's own 15a or 20a dedicated circuit. If the fridge receptacle is not accessable w/o moving the fridge, it does not require GFCI protection.

-1 15 or 20a circuit for the disposal. You may not use either the bathroom, fridge, or countertop receptaclecircuits for the disposal.

Last edited by slickshift; 03-03-2008 at 10:01 PM. Reason: edited for content
LawnGuyLandSparky is offline  
Old 03-02-2008, 03:40 PM   #14
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 14
Rewards Points: 10
Default

I want to put in a GFCI ckt.


Quote:
Originally Posted by chris75 View Post
This is not required, and the fridge is a waste on its own circuit.
you better go back and look in your code book 210.52 the refridge should be on it's own 15amp circuit,also when you have a light within shower it needs to be on GFI
duke2043 is offline  
Old 03-02-2008, 03:41 PM   #15
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,864
Rewards Points: 2,032
Default

I want to put in a GFCI ckt.


Quote:
Originally Posted by duke2043 View Post
The disposal should also be on its own circuit.By code your appliances should be on there own circuits.
Quote:
Originally Posted by duke2043 View Post
if you have a recess light over bath or shower this needs to be GFCI protected.
Duke, please be careful when ginvg advice such as this.
BOTH these quotes are NOT true, as has been pointed out already. If things like this are code in your area please state this.

__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Freezer tripping GFCI davidclements Appliances 57 08-13-2014 08:14 PM
New GFCI Breaker Tripping w/ 3-way Flourescents BigJimmy Electrical 8 12-29-2008 02:29 PM
fused disconnect and/or GFCI ? pchiz Electrical 8 12-21-2007 10:02 AM
GFCI questions 5circles Electrical 4 11-05-2007 08:24 PM
two GFCI outlets at bath vanity Hickory Electrical 6 12-18-2005 09:31 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.