Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-31-2012, 09:38 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

I want to double a 220 outlet


I have two 220 kilns and one 220 outlet. Since 220 plugs are very difficult to continuously move in and out of their outlets, I would like to plug in both kilns and leave them plugged in, BUT only use one at a time. The kilns would never run at the same time. Is there an adaptor for this?

Thanks!

Felix41 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2012, 09:39 PM   #2
Sparky
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 702
Rewards Points: 502
Default

I want to double a 220 outlet


you could tap another receptacle off of the existing, what size are these kilns?

Techy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2012, 10:31 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,660
Rewards Points: 2,280
Default

I want to double a 220 outlet


What about a switch ?
So it's one or the other !
But never both !
dmxtothemax is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2012, 11:36 PM   #4
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,877
Rewards Points: 2,108
Default

I want to double a 220 outlet


Quote:
Originally Posted by dmxtothemax View Post
What about a switch ?
So it's one or the other !
But never both !
I wouldn't go through the trouble.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Speedy Petey For This Useful Post:
stickboy1375 (09-01-2012)
Old 09-01-2012, 08:49 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

I want to double a 220 outlet


Quote:
Originally Posted by Techy View Post
you could tap another receptacle off of the existing, what size are these kilns?
I have one ceramic and one glass kiln....both "hobby size"...less than 18x18x18" inside size.
Any specific suggestions for tapping off another outlet?
Felix41 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2012, 08:51 AM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

I want to double a 220 outlet


Quote:
Originally Posted by dmxtothemax View Post
What about a switch ?
So it's one or the other !
But never both !
Good suggestion. Thanks!

Felix41 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Odd Fireplace Outlet Behavior permagrin Electrical 2 12-17-2011 09:06 AM
Changing A Double Switch to a single pole switch and a dimmer switch loydbrahn Electrical 0 11-09-2011 12:00 AM
small secondary countertop outlet issue rasz Electrical 8 11-07-2011 05:14 PM
Odd voltages at outlet TJF Electrical 12 11-01-2011 10:13 PM
Help Help richie02 Electrical 7 06-17-2008 09:42 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.