Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-15-2010, 05:00 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 1
Share |
Default

I think you should always test your device for power.


Is it against Ontario Elecrical Code to suppliy power to a electrical outlet in a downstairs livingroom via the main power feed to a bedroom? I have a small wall in a livingroom that i want to put an elecrical outlet on. On the otherside of the wall is a bedroom plug. There are only 10 devises on this Arc Fault bedroom line. My concern is when an unknowing person tries to service this new outlet I want to install...goes to the fuse panel... shuts off the breaker that says "dwnstrs livngrm" and doesnt realize that this outlet is on the "dwnstrs bdrm" breaker and manages to hurt themselves. Can I simply label the breaker accordingly? Can I ID each outlet and make a referance chart in fuse panel? Or must this outlet be part of the "dwnstrs livngrm" line that is already at its capacity..not?

Thanks for any help you maybe able to provide.


Last edited by Shufflemaster1; 08-15-2010 at 05:28 PM.
Shufflemaster1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2010, 05:48 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

I think you should always test your device for power.


I use an Excel spreadsheet to outline everything on a circuit
I print it out & post it at the breaker panel

Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Scuba_Dave For This Useful Post:
Shufflemaster1 (08-19-2010)
Old 08-15-2010, 07:25 PM   #3
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 1,139
Default

I think you should always test your device for power.


If your dumb enough not to test something to make sure it is dead before working on it, you deserve the shock.
darren is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to darren For This Useful Post:
jbfan (08-16-2010), Shufflemaster1 (08-19-2010), Speedy Petey (08-15-2010)
Old 08-16-2010, 12:54 PM   #4
Member
 
57_Hemi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: TORONTO CANADA
Posts: 81
Default

I think you should always test your device for power.


Quote:
Originally Posted by darren View Post
If your dumb enough not to test something to make sure it is dead before working on it, you deserve the shock.

LOL........ VERY TRUE

However, labelling every receptacle or light fixture to its corresponding breaker and posting it at your main breaker panel is an excellent idea.

It can really make things easier during troubleshooting....... but ofcourse once again any one working on a particular circuit should always check for power first.
57_Hemi is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to 57_Hemi For This Useful Post:
Shufflemaster1 (08-19-2010)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to test new plumbing work for leaks Gusaroo Plumbing 5 07-14-2012 02:06 AM
New test being conducted! Still hvac issue! MrShadetree0222 HVAC 24 10-21-2008 10:44 PM
How to use a Digital Pocket Multimeter (to test AA & AAA batteries) ? ehoez Electrical 5 09-01-2008 11:02 AM
Radon Test! handy man88 Plumbing 2 10-18-2007 07:38 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.