I Need Help With A 3 Phase System. Please Help - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-07-2009, 09:18 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

I need help with a 3 Phase System. Please Help


Hello,

I have a tanning bed that requires 3 Phase to be connected. However I only have a 2 Phase outlet. I have 2 transformers that need to be connected they are
GE buck Boost Transformer Model 9T51B0110
GE buck Boost Transformer Model 9T51B0130

I am guessing the bed needs both connected to work. I included a schematic of what i have and what i need for output. Any help is appreciated on how i can connect this.

Thank you for all the help.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf Drawing1.pdf (6.3 KB, 114 views)

Advertisement

virgiltu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2009, 10:48 AM   #2
Licensed Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SC
Posts: 1,546
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

I need help with a 3 Phase System. Please Help


3 phase? 2 phase?
Best help I can offer is to hire an electrician. You are in way over your head here.

Advertisement

__________________
"Life is hard. Life is harder when you're stupid." John Wayne
HouseHelper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2009, 11:05 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

I need help with a 3 Phase System. Please Help


The outlet is 2 phase and the bed will need 3 phase. The transformer wiring will determine the 3 phase output.
virgiltu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2009, 11:09 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 1,802
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

I need help with a 3 Phase System. Please Help


What is a 2 phase outlet? Where are you located?
jerryh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2009, 11:15 AM   #5
Idiot Emeritus
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Fernley, Nevada (near Reno)
Posts: 1,643
Rewards Points: 1,080
Default

I need help with a 3 Phase System. Please Help


If the two phase outlet is actually a 240 volt single phase outlet, a transformer will not make it 3 phase. The only ways to get 3 phase power from a single phase source are with a phase converter or a VFD.

If the outlet is at a house, it is almost certainly single phase.

Rob
micromind is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2009, 11:23 AM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

I need help with a 3 Phase System. Please Help


Hello,

Thank you. This is actually set up at the tanning salon so they do have a 3 phase line, just not in that room. I will suggest to move the bed to another room or just pay an electrician to come and drop another line in that room. I was not sure about the transformer. I just thought i had it connected wrong. Thank you again.
virgiltu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2009, 11:33 AM   #7
Idiot Emeritus
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Fernley, Nevada (near Reno)
Posts: 1,643
Rewards Points: 1,080
Default

I need help with a 3 Phase System. Please Help


Very likely the power supply is a 120/208 3 phase system. If the bed needs 240, you'll need to connect the two transformers to boost the voltage.

Beware, a lot of electricians don't know how to connect buck-boost transformers.

Rob
micromind is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2009, 02:20 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

I need help with a 3 Phase System. Please Help


Yes that was my problem. I dont know how to connect them. So far i got them to give me 240v between the two black on the bed side and 120v between all the others. However since i dont have another phase the from white to black and from white to red i get 120v. I need 240. Thats y I posted the diagram of what i have and what I need. I figured I am wiring something wrong. Thank you
virgiltu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2009, 04:14 PM   #9
Idiot Emeritus
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Fernley, Nevada (near Reno)
Posts: 1,643
Rewards Points: 1,080
Default

I need help with a 3 Phase System. Please Help


If the power system is 120/208, you'll need all 3 phases, and two transformers. Here's how to connect it.

1) Transformer #1; H4 and X1 are connected to incoming phase A. H2 and H3 are connected together. X2 and X3 are connected together. H1 is connected to incoming phase B. X4 is outgoing phase A.

2) Transformer #2; H4 and X1 are connected to incoming phase C. H2 and H3 are connected together. X2 and X3 are connected together. H1 is connected to incoming phase B. X4 is outgoing phase C.

3) Incoming phase B is the same as outgoing phase B. It goes straight through, but both H1s are connected to it.

This will give about 28 volts boost. Any load involving the neutral must be connected to phase B. It's the only one that's still 120 to neutral.

If you'll post the VA or KVA ratings of the transformers, and the amp requirement of the bed, I (or one of the other guys around here) will tell you if they are big enough.

Rob

P.S. Is the black-red-white a cable of some sort that originates in the panel? If it is, and the white is landed on the neutral bus, simply move it to one pole of a 3 pole breaker, and you'll have all 3 phases. Label the white some other color, like blue.

Last edited by micromind; 12-07-2009 at 04:19 PM. Reason: Added P.S.
micromind is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2009, 04:18 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

I need help with a 3 Phase System. Please Help


Hello,

I just checked and that is the way i have them installed. I guess the issues is that I dont have Phase B to go from H1 to H1 and to the bed. So I will check if i can move the bed to another room where I have a 3 phase installation.

Thank you so much for your help.
virgiltu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2009, 04:21 PM   #11
Idiot Emeritus
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Fernley, Nevada (near Reno)
Posts: 1,643
Rewards Points: 1,080
Default

I need help with a 3 Phase System. Please Help


Sorry, I'm a bit slow, check the P.S. I added.

Rob

Advertisement

micromind is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Burnham Series 2 Cast Iron Radiator System SybrDave HVAC 2 12-10-2009 06:24 AM
new system install.....questions firedogut HVAC 4 10-04-2009 08:10 PM
Want to add a single phase Subpanel to three Phase Main meglomachinist Electrical 19 09-10-2009 04:46 PM
How to power a 120/240 volt 3 phase oven in a building with 120/240 volt single phase wantsomegetsome Electrical 9 05-04-2009 11:49 AM
120/208/1 phase wiring questions JohnJon Electrical 11 09-01-2008 12:28 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts