Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-06-2009, 06:05 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 187
Share |
Default

I mounted switch box sideways - can I fix it?


Quote:
Originally Posted by wirenut1110 View Post
Also, don't forget to fill unused holes, I'm sure you don't want this

That may exceed box fill limits!

Gary

Gary_602z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2009, 07:19 PM   #17
Learning by Doing
 
Leah Frances's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Easton, Maryland
Posts: 3,156
Blog Entries: 7
Default

I mounted switch box sideways - can I fix it?


Quote:
Originally Posted by 220/221 View Post
Good god that is ugly.

It may work but......not much room for dimmers

If there is a next time, bring all the cables in the same side of the box. It eliminates a lot of crap.

A mud ring would have to be drilled and will probably make it stick out too far. Just take it apart and fix it. 10-20 minutes.
Ouch, I'd thought I'd done a pretty good job.I'm up for constructive criticism; how could I better run the four cables: two 12/2s and two 12/3s.
__________________
If I could only remember to THINK about what I was doing before I did it.
Leah Frances is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2009, 07:29 PM   #18
Electrical Contractor
 
wirenut1110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chester, VA.
Posts: 1,046
Send a message via AIM to wirenut1110
Default

I mounted switch box sideways - can I fix it?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Leah Frances View Post
Ouch, I'd thought I'd done a pretty good job.I'm up for constructive criticism; how could I better run the four cables: two 12/2s and two 12/3s.
It looks fine, especially the wire markers
wirenut1110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2009, 07:47 PM   #19
Member
 
dSilanskas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Posts: 474
Default

I mounted switch box sideways - can I fix it?


It has a rat in its mouth its not burnt
dSilanskas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2009, 07:48 PM   #20
Electrical Contractor
 
wirenut1110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chester, VA.
Posts: 1,046
Send a message via AIM to wirenut1110
Default

I mounted switch box sideways - can I fix it?


I'll be damned, I though his head was mutilated. Now that IS cool. Maybe he is still alive.
wirenut1110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2009, 08:09 PM   #21
Member
 
dSilanskas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Posts: 474
Default

I mounted switch box sideways - can I fix it?


i think it is still alive do you see the rat now?
dSilanskas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2009, 10:11 PM   #22
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Default

I mounted switch box sideways - can I fix it?


Quote:
That looks like a 4/11 box instead of a 1900 box.
Come on. That's a two gang handy box. The tabs are positioned for devices.




Quote:
how could I better run the four cables: two 12/2s and two 12/3s.
First, run all cables into the top of the box.

Cut the wires so they come to the bottom of the box and bend back once to the top.

Wirenut the grounds with one wirenut leaving the appropriate pigtails and fold/tuck them way back in. Same with the neutrals. Same with other wires. When you leave too much wire in and have to fold it over twice it takes up valuable real estate.

Here is a pic with 2, 14/3's and 4, 14/2's many wires in it but still has a bunch of room in it for dimmers.

Last edited by 220/221; 02-06-2009 at 10:14 PM.
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2009, 10:31 PM   #23
Learning by Doing
 
Leah Frances's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Easton, Maryland
Posts: 3,156
Blog Entries: 7
Default

I mounted switch box sideways - can I fix it?


Thanks for the pic. It's hard for us Noobs to visualize some of this stuff. It's nice to see it when it's done right. Pictures really help.

I think my biggest problem is being afraid of not leaving enough wire so I end up with too much slack that has to be crammed back inside. After some more experience, I would never do the grounds the same way as that box.

Plus, despite alot of practice, I really suck at twisting four or more 12s together. In all honestly, I think it's cause I'm a girl. Really. I've got a set of high quality linesman pliers - my problem is that I lack the hand strength in my left hand to keep the wires lined up while I twist with the pliers in my right hand. I always seem to end up with one wire that creeps as I twist and ends up coiled around the others, resulting in a big-ole-mess.

My electrical mentor (good ol'Dad) says that's why he likes 15 A circuits - 14 gauge wire.

__________________
If I could only remember to THINK about what I was doing before I did it.
Leah Frances is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dimmer Switch Vandiyan Electrical 21 12-15-2008 07:23 PM
Replacing a bathroom fan switch cmacjr22 Electrical 4 11-04-2008 06:14 PM
old wire, backfed switch question Jack A. Trades Electrical 6 07-03-2008 11:05 AM
changing a fixture to an outlet - keeping the switch aweshucks Electrical 4 12-27-2007 05:06 PM
Basic Switch wiring question; Dimmer to Toggle switch (Pictures included) inspectator Electrical 8 08-07-2007 01:19 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.