Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-06-2009, 04:05 PM   #1
Learning by Doing
 
Leah Frances's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Easton, Maryland
Posts: 3,156
Rewards Points: 0
Blog Entries: 7
Share |
Default

I mounted switch box sideways - can I fix it?


When I went to wire in my switches to test my two new AFCI protected () circuits I discovered this problem:


I'm going to call it a newbie mistake - but it was also a failure to pay attention to the details.

I want to mount the switches vertically - is there a cheat around this problem?

BTW: everything WORKS!!!

__________________
If I could only remember to THINK about what I was doing before I did it.
Leah Frances is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2009, 04:31 PM   #2
Member
 
dSilanskas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Posts: 474
Rewards Points: 0
Default

I mounted switch box sideways - can I fix it?


Yes just get a plaster ring


Last edited by dSilanskas; 02-06-2009 at 04:34 PM.
dSilanskas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2009, 04:35 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 1,802
Rewards Points: 0
Default

I mounted switch box sideways - can I fix it?


Take the box out and turn it.
jerryh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2009, 04:37 PM   #4
Member
 
dSilanskas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Posts: 474
Rewards Points: 0
Default

I mounted switch box sideways - can I fix it?


Than get a plaster ring! hahaha
dSilanskas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2009, 04:41 PM   #5
Learning by Doing
 
Leah Frances's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Easton, Maryland
Posts: 3,156
Rewards Points: 0
Blog Entries: 7
Default

I mounted switch box sideways - can I fix it?


Plaster ring it is! Thanks for a simple solution.
__________________
If I could only remember to THINK about what I was doing before I did it.
Leah Frances is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2009, 04:42 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 0
Default

I mounted switch box sideways - can I fix it?


Good god that is ugly.

It may work but......not much room for dimmers

If there is a next time, bring all the cables in the same side of the box. It eliminates a lot of crap.

A mud ring would have to be drilled and will probably make it stick out too far. Just take it apart and fix it. 10-20 minutes.
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2009, 04:48 PM   #7
Electrical Contractor
 
wirenut1110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chester, VA.
Posts: 1,049
Rewards Points: 0
Send a message via AIM to wirenut1110
Default

I mounted switch box sideways - can I fix it?


I'm not sure a plaster ring will work for that box. All the one's I've seen the screws are in the corners.
wirenut1110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2009, 04:56 PM   #8
Electrical Contractor
 
wirenut1110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chester, VA.
Posts: 1,049
Rewards Points: 0
Send a message via AIM to wirenut1110
Default

I mounted switch box sideways - can I fix it?


Also, don't forget to fill unused holes, I'm sure you don't want this

Attached Thumbnails
I mounted switch box sideways - can I fix it?-snake-bite.jpg  
wirenut1110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2009, 05:35 PM   #9
Member
 
dSilanskas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Posts: 474
Rewards Points: 0
Default

I mounted switch box sideways - can I fix it?


HOLLY IS THAT SNAKE STILL ALIVE??!?!?!
dSilanskas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2009, 05:45 PM   #10
Electrical Contractor
 
wirenut1110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chester, VA.
Posts: 1,049
Rewards Points: 0
Send a message via AIM to wirenut1110
Default

I mounted switch box sideways - can I fix it?


No,I have another pic that showed it after they pull it out and his little head looks fried
wirenut1110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2009, 05:49 PM   #11
Member
 
dSilanskas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Posts: 474
Rewards Points: 0
Default

I mounted switch box sideways - can I fix it?


Do post
dSilanskas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2009, 05:54 PM   #12
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,568
Rewards Points: 64
Default

I mounted switch box sideways - can I fix it?


The drywall is not installed. It is a 5 minute job to take off and replace with another one or turn it.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2009, 05:55 PM   #13
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,793
Rewards Points: 18
Default

I mounted switch box sideways - can I fix it?


That looks like a 4/11 box instead of a 1900 box.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2009, 05:56 PM   #14
Electrical Contractor
 
wirenut1110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chester, VA.
Posts: 1,049
Rewards Points: 0
Send a message via AIM to wirenut1110
Default

I mounted switch box sideways - can I fix it?


Here ya go just glad it wasn't me
Attached Thumbnails
I mounted switch box sideways - can I fix it?-snake-head.jpg  
wirenut1110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2009, 06:04 PM   #15
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,793
Rewards Points: 18
Default

I mounted switch box sideways - can I fix it?


At least you could see it before you opened the door!

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dimmer Switch Vandiyan Electrical 21 12-15-2008 07:23 PM
Replacing a bathroom fan switch cmacjr22 Electrical 4 11-04-2008 06:14 PM
old wire, backfed switch question Jack A. Trades Electrical 6 07-03-2008 11:05 AM
changing a fixture to an outlet - keeping the switch aweshucks Electrical 4 12-27-2007 05:06 PM
Basic Switch wiring question; Dimmer to Toggle switch (Pictures included) inspectator Electrical 8 08-07-2007 01:19 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.