DIY Home Improvement Forum banner

I hope this is the right spot.

4K views 8 replies 5 participants last post by  ffdanf 
#1 ·
Air compressor with no power line or info on how to install it!!!
I'm a newbie to say the least...BUT, I have bought an air compressor from Menards. It is a Coleman powermate. Model #SLA7006056. The Co. had a wire in the store with the 240 V plug. However, the owners manual doesn't say anything on how to connect the wire to the compressor. Further more...THERE'S NO WAY TO CONNECT THE COMPRESSOR TO ANY POWER WITHOUT HAVING THE CORD IN USE. I think I just bought a decoration type air compressor. Can anyone please give me some info on how to connect the power wire.:furious: :furious: By the way...HI to EVERYONE.
Last edited by ffdanf : Today at 02:08 PM.

#7 ·
Are you sure? According to their website http://www.powermate.com/
, "Powermate" is the manufacturer for many compressors other than Coleman. From their site- "Powermate has developed a strong reputation for quality manufacturing under trusted brand names such as Powermate, Coleman Powermate, Endura, Black Max, Industrial Air, Magna Force, ProForce, Progen, Sanborn and private label brands such as Durabuilt, Marshalltown, Husky, and Kobalt".

That would certainly put HomeDepot "Husky" and Lowes "Kobalt" in the same situation as well.

#3 ·
Actually, this is not all that hard to solve. A few questions first.

Is the compressor 240 volt? (220, 230, 240, it's all the same). You'll find this info on the motor nameplate. We'll also need to know the amps. (Might be listed as FLA; full load amps).