Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-28-2009, 02:17 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

I have a house with aluminum wiring should I pigtail every outlet


The lack of grounds may also be causing excessive wattage use. The usage this last month was almost 2500 watts. One of the breakers has been welded into the breaker box. I suspect the breaker is too crowded and over amped. Could either of these problems cause a high wattage use in my house. I live in Dallas we have had a pretty mild winter so far and I recently added 4 '" of insullation.

guyblue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2009, 02:25 PM   #2
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,586
Rewards Points: 6
Default

I have a house with aluminum wiring should I pigtail every outlet


With AL wiring i would suspect that there is a grounding wire in your cables. It was part of wiring methods before AL wiring started to be used.

If it is not connected to your devices it will not affect how much electric is used. It is there to provide a path back to the panel to trip a breaker.

I would suggest you get your panel looked at if a breaker has become welded to the buss. Breakers should match the wire sizes to properly protect against the wires becoming overheated and causing a fire.

Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2009, 02:34 PM   #3
DIYer
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Virginia
Posts: 910
Rewards Points: 0
Default

I have a house with aluminum wiring should I pigtail every outlet


Pigtailing using the proper wire nuts is better than nothing, but it's not recommended by the CPSC among others because there is still a hazard.

The breaker welding in is probably unrelated to the Al wiring. Is your panel Federal Pacific Stab-lok by any chance?
Gigs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2009, 02:42 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 0
Default

I have a house with aluminum wiring should I pigtail every outlet


If the ground is not connected the breaker will never reset and will therefore could cause a fire
guyblue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2009, 02:44 PM   #5
DIYer
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Virginia
Posts: 910
Rewards Points: 0
Default

I have a house with aluminum wiring should I pigtail every outlet


Quote:
Originally Posted by guyblue View Post
If the ground is not connected the breaker will never reset and will therefore could cause a fire
This is not true at all. Without a ground the breaker works just fine.
Gigs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2009, 02:45 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 0
Default

I have a house with aluminum wiring should I pigtail every outlet


It is a General Electric that is all I can see on breaer box
guyblue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2009, 02:49 PM   #7
DIYer
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Virginia
Posts: 910
Rewards Points: 0
Default

I have a house with aluminum wiring should I pigtail every outlet


I think you should have a professional look at it. The bus bars are probably damaged if you have a breaker welded in, and there could be damage to the wires in the walls on that circuit too.
Gigs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2009, 03:09 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 41
Rewards Points: 0
Default

I have a house with aluminum wiring should I pigtail every outlet


can't a short somewhere, with a piece of equipment or in the wiring, cause the meter to keep cranking around from the circuit the short is located on? It sounds to me like the breaker should have tripped and didn't and there is a lot of power coming through that circuit that shouldn't be. I'm good at expressing things in laymans terms because I'm a layman that's for sure!
Typ0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2009, 03:13 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 0
Default

I have a house with aluminum wiring should I pigtail every outlet


Do you have an idea about how much that might cost
guyblue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2009, 03:15 PM   #10
DIYer
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Virginia
Posts: 910
Rewards Points: 0
Default

I have a house with aluminum wiring should I pigtail every outlet


To get someone just to come out and assess the damage should not cost more than $100. They might do it free as part of a free estimate.
Gigs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2009, 03:25 PM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 0
Default

I have a house with aluminum wiring should I pigtail every outlet


The person who replaced my outdoor unit was a master techician he was going to replace the breaker but could not. Could this cause the excessive wattage use?
guyblue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2009, 03:33 PM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 0
Default

I have a house with aluminum wiring should I pigtail every outlet


He also stated there was too many high voltage breakers in use
60 60
60 60
30 30
30 60
30 60
30 15
30 15
15 20
---20
15 20
---20
15 20
---20
15 20
---20

Is this dangerous?
guyblue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2009, 04:16 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: South Western Ontario
Posts: 955
Rewards Points: 0
Default

I have a house with aluminum wiring should I pigtail every outlet


Gigs,
Not to steal the post. I have Federal Pioneer Stablok and AL approx 32 years old. Is there an issue with this combo. "Is your panel Federal Pacific Stab-lok by any chance?"
I have changed all connectors to AL rtaed and used paste.
Chemist1961 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2009, 04:45 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 0
Default

I have a house with aluminum wiring should I pigtail every outlet


Quote:
I think you should have a professional look at it.
I second that. Find an old guy who has experience with AL wiring.
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2009, 05:24 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Rewards Points: 0
Default

I have a house with aluminum wiring should I pigtail every outlet


Quote:
Originally Posted by Gigs View Post
I think you should have a professional look at it.

I think this is the best way to go, aluminum wiring isn't something to learn electrical wiring on.

rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Old Wiring, New Outlet atkearns Electrical 9 11-23-2008 12:33 PM
wiring a dedicated switch to a outlet Michel Electrical 2 09-18-2008 06:25 PM
60 year old house wiring bigp58 Electrical 1 04-21-2008 11:32 AM
wiring a gfci outlet in circuit bobo Electrical 12 08-31-2005 08:38 PM
Cost of replacing old knob ant tube wiring in house bikerboy337 Electrical 3 03-26-2005 08:50 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.