HVAC System Heat Won't Run With Standby Generator Running... - Electrical - Page 5 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-12-2009, 08:12 AM   #61
Electrical Contractor
 
wirenut1110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chester, VA.
Posts: 1,051
Rewards Points: 504
Send a message via AIM to wirenut1110
Default

HVAC system heat won't run with standby generator running...


Oh, I'm sorry. It's in a diagnostic and repair manual only available to dealers. I was referencing that for you to be able to show your dealer where it was.

Advertisement

wirenut1110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2009, 04:47 PM   #62
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Canada (s/w ON.)
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

HVAC system heat won't run with standby generator running...


All electronics require direct current to operate! The furnace electronics will have a built in rectifier and filter to supply this!
I doubt that 'dirty power' is the root of the problem. The 'computer' power supply should be able to handle this!

I have experienced problems with generators that occurred during the initial starting period. The generators were able to support the running load, but failed to supply the starting current.
I would suggest that everything in the house be turned off and that the only load for the generator would be the furnace.
If the furnace still fails, it may be because of insufficient supply wire gauge.
If the furnace is OK with all the other loads removed, perhaps the loads can be cascaded onto the generator with timers.
Wildie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2009, 09:57 PM   #63
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 28
Rewards Points: 25
Default

HVAC system heat won't run with standby generator running...


have any of you guys out there ever thought that it may be a frequency
issue.

As far as the dirty power, your brand is right up there.


A better brand of generator might work with your HAVC.


Like someone said, try the HAVC site.


The only thing in my bag of tricks, would some kind of relay set up,
that disconnects the HAVC for all power, and re-connects when the
generator is fully up and running. That may solve the freq. problem,
but not the dirty power problem.

Good luck.

And please post back when you get this problem solved, will all would
like to know the anwer.
user62257 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2009, 10:22 PM   #64
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Western Maryland
Posts: 19
Rewards Points: 10
Default

HVAC system heat won't run with standby generator running...


The problem was finally solved. The #4 DIP switch had to be turned on. Look at post #50 in this thread, back a page or two. Thanks to everyone for all their help. PT
PTighe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2009, 10:24 PM   #65
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

HVAC system heat won't run with standby generator running...


Ummm ... the problem was solved over a month ago! Post #50 stated thus:
Quote:
Originally Posted by PTighe View Post
I haven't posted on this in a while because the electrician's and the HVAC guys have been trying trouble shoot this fiasco. The guy who originally installed this Generac Guardian 18kW generator gave up and said it was a problem with my Dave Lennox signature series furnace.

On the other hand, the HVAC guys said it was a problem with the generator because the Generac could not hold a steady, even 60 Hz when it was running. Long story short...the HVAC company hired their own Generac certified electician for a second opinion.

He came out here today along with the tech and service manager from where I bought the Lennox system. All them were out here for half a day trying different ways of correcting the problem...(the heat won't come on with the generator running).

The electrician called the Generac Tech line several times and finally they told him to "turn on the #4 DIP switch" which is in the generator unit. Well, guess what? It WORKS!!! The heat and the air conditioner both work fine now when running off the generator only.

It's taken seven months of trouble shooting and dozens of visits out here by these guys and the simple answer to such a complex problem was...turn on the #4 DIP switch, that really made my year. Anyone know what a DIP switch is? PT
Scroll back on those threads before posting redundant information!

Edit to add: Looks like PTighe beat me to the punch!
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!

Last edited by kbsparky; 09-12-2009 at 10:26 PM. Reason: Added postscript
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2009, 10:43 PM   #66
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

HVAC system heat won't run with standby generator running...


Quote:
Originally Posted by wirenut1110 View Post
Switch 1- On= low speed exercise Off= normal exercise
Switch 2- On=50 Hz Off=60 Hz
Switch 3-spare
Switch 4- On= 60 Hz operation Off= 58-62 Hz operation
Quote:
Originally Posted by PTighe View Post
Thanks for the invaluable information. Duhhh, I'll have to send this to the two Generac electricians
Of course you will charge them for the troubleshooting assistance
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2009, 04:47 AM   #67
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 28
Rewards Points: 25
Default

HVAC system heat won't run with standby generator running...


The generator installers where not true electrician. A true electrician
would had check out the frequency of the product, when running and
up to speed.
user62257 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2009, 03:03 PM   #68
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 28
Rewards Points: 25
Default

HVAC system heat won't run with standby generator running...


PTighe

I am trying to set up a link, to answer your question.

www.wikipedia.org/wiki/DIP_switch

I check the link above, what you know this one works.

Your DIP switch question will answer at the site this take you too.

Last edited by user62257; 09-14-2009 at 03:05 PM. Reason: spelling
user62257 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2009, 03:22 PM   #69
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

HVAC system heat won't run with standby generator running...


4x - You keep posting answers to questions that have already been resolved

The Dip switch question (if it really was one ) was asked & answered over 5 weeks ago

4x42001 - Your last post Violates the User agreement and has been removed
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2009, 05:48 PM   #70
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Western Maryland
Posts: 19
Rewards Points: 10
Default

HVAC system heat won't run with standby generator running...


Quote:
Originally Posted by Scuba_Dave View Post
4x - You keep posting answers to questions that have already been resolved

The Dip switch question (if it really was one ) was asked & answered over 5 weeks ago

4x42001 - Your last post Violates the User agreement and has been removed
Sorry about that. I never intended to violate the agreement. Please delete this entire thread if you want.
PTighe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2009, 06:35 PM   #71
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

HVAC system heat won't run with standby generator running...


Quote:
Originally Posted by PTighe View Post
Sorry about that. I never intended to violate the agreement. Please delete this entire thread if you want.
It wasn't you PTighe; it was a post by 4x42001 which has been removed

Advertisement

Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Goodman HVAC system blower stuck on? OhNoes HVAC 14 09-03-2011 08:32 PM
What's prevents a good HVAC system install? Yoyizit HVAC 9 04-29-2009 06:03 PM
Cracked Heat Exchanger SusanB. HVAC 12 10-14-2008 04:57 PM
bleed a multizone hydronic heat system jsamorug HVAC 5 10-04-2008 08:37 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts