Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-26-2012, 05:42 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 1
Share |
Default

HVAC Electrical


I had an HVAC company come out and repair my compressor unit. Locked up fan motor. While they were trouble shooting it was found to have a bad breaker outside the house. They cut the wires to the breaker and wire capped them together. First question, will this cause my house to catch fire? Second question, since I am done with these people can I replace these parts at the local home improvement store or is this going to cost me more than I had bargained for?
DIY Dummie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2012, 05:52 PM   #2
MarginallyQualified
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Winston-Salem NC
Posts: 3,460
Default

HVAC Electrical


Quote:
Originally Posted by DIY Dummie View Post
While they were trouble shooting it (the disconnect) was found to have a bad breaker...
They cut the wires to the breaker and wire capped them together.
Would you rather not have the AC working this weekend?

First question, will this cause my house to catch fire? NO
Second question, since I am done with these people can I replace these parts at the local home improvement store...
You need a new outside disconnect.
In most areas you do NOT need a breaker out there too.

The AC company SHOULD have installed one.
You may be able to put it in yourself.

Look for something like this (about $15):
Attached Images
 
TarheelTerp is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to TarheelTerp For This Useful Post:
DIY Dummie (05-26-2012)
Old 05-26-2012, 06:00 PM   #3
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,243
Default

HVAC Electrical


Quote:
Originally Posted by TarheelTerp View Post
You need a new outside disconnect.
In most areas you do NOT need a breaker out there too.

The AC company SHOULD have installed one.
You may be able to put it in yourself.

Look for something like this (about $15):
Why does he need that when he already had a disconnect installed... Just install a new breaker, they didn't have one, but did what they could... its just being used as a service disconnect.... not sure what the issue was, but order a new fan part and be done with it. And why on earth would the AC company install an electrical disconnect?

Last edited by stickboy1375; 05-26-2012 at 06:24 PM.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2012, 06:12 PM   #4
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,056
Default

HVAC Electrical


If they wired the two hots together they created a dead short.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2012, 06:14 PM   #5
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,446
Default

HVAC Electrical


Don't need an electrical disconnect if the electrical service panel is on the same exterior wall as the condensing unit. That's how it is down here at least. The breaker itself is the disconnect.


Either way, just purchase a new breaker and have it installed. If you mean the wires are still hanging out of the breaker, cut, and are bare than you'll certainly have issues. If they are capped off then not so much but it's best practice to remove the stub wire altogether or the bad breaker itself.
__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2012, 06:17 PM   #6
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,243
Default

HVAC Electrical


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
If they wired the two hots together they created a dead short.
my guess is that they tied line to load...
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2012, 10:49 PM   #7
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 4,834
Default

HVAC Electrical


A disconnect is required by the NEC (440.14) to be within sight of and accessible from the outside condenser. This requirement is for the safety of servicing technicians. In most cases it is not required that the disconnect be fused. A circuit breaker in the panel will not be acceptable unless the panel is a meter main or exterior mounted panel within sight of the a/c unit. In my career I never came across a residential A/C that did not have a disconnect moounted close by the condenser unit.

Last edited by Stubbie; 05-26-2012 at 10:52 PM.
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2012, 10:53 PM   #8
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,446
Default

HVAC Electrical


Here ya go, from two days ago.

__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2012, 11:09 PM   #9
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,243
Default

HVAC Electrical


Quote:
Originally Posted by Doc Holliday View Post
Here ya go, from two days ago.

Thats awesome, who picked that location for the ac unit?
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2012, 11:26 PM   #10
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,446
Default

HVAC Electrical


Probably the original hvac guys when the home was built some 50-60 years ago, judging by the original sunken concrete pad. It must have passed inspection..
__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2012, 05:45 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Huntsville, AL USA
Posts: 219
Default

HVAC Electrical


What's with that open meter socket?
fa_f3_20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2012, 08:58 PM   #12
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Default

HVAC Electrical


So.....you don't need a disconnect in this situation, just the proper sized breaker. But you have a few other issues that need to be corrected immediately.....like closing up the unused meter socket and getting a waterproof cover for that breaker panel.
__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2012, 09:22 PM   #13
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Default

HVAC Electrical


Quote:
Originally Posted by Missouri Bound View Post
So.....you don't need a disconnect in this situation, just the proper sized breaker. But you have a few other issues that need to be corrected immediately.....like closing up the unused meter socket and getting a waterproof cover for that breaker panel.
Look closer, I think that is a 3R enclosure with a side hinged door on the left.
Code05 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2012, 09:28 PM   #14
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Default

HVAC Electrical


Quote:
Originally Posted by Code05 View Post
Look closer, I think that is a 3R enclosure with a side hinged door on the left.

Ahh yes. Thanks. I thought it was part of the wall trim
__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2012, 09:43 PM   #15
retired elect/hvac/plumb
 
plummen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south east of omaha/The island of misfit contractors
Posts: 2,792
Default

HVAC Electrical


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
If they wired the two hots together they created a dead short.
Im guessing he means they just bypassed the breaker/disconect and wired the wires from ac whip directly to line voltage coming into the disconect
__________________
"facts" have no relevance to this discusion
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Posting from a concrete bunker under a non descript barn
plummen is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
low-voltage and electrical wiring sharing same stud space jheavner Electrical 21 10-06-2011 11:16 AM
moving HVAC system - can I go without gas for a few days? denemante HVAC 2 03-30-2011 04:55 AM
Slight electrical current in bathroom faucet water + other unusual electrical events story Electrical 9 09-16-2009 10:28 PM
Electrical box replace,addiitions, city permits and looking for an electrician ramchy Electrical 3 08-02-2009 11:12 AM
An HVAC electrical ? 737Pilot Electrical 5 10-14-2008 12:24 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.