How Would You Run The Ground Wire Outside? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-04-2009, 08:32 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 146
Rewards Points: 75
Default

How would you run the ground wire outside?


I will be running the electricity to my detached garage and was wondering how do you prefer to run the bare #6 ground from the panel to the ground rod. Would you just drill a hole in the siding and run it out or would you use say 1/2" pvc conduit through a lb and conduit to ground level. I know the ground on my shop where the power is going to be coming from is just through a small hole in the wall and I don't really like it like that.

Advertisement

Plumbvoltage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2009, 08:40 AM   #2
BIGRED
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Northern Illinois
Posts: 486
Rewards Points: 250
Default

How would you run the ground wire outside?


Your #6 ground should be connected to your meter box. Plus I could be wrong but it seems to me that the general consensus among all the pipe benders on this site is that your electrical system should only have one earth ground point, that being the #6 ground wire.

Advertisement

Grampa Bud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2009, 08:48 AM   #3
My License Ain't 4 Sale..
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 1,813
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

How would you run the ground wire outside?


I suppose you mean that you are running a feeder to your garage from the house? The ground wire can go outside by any means you prefer; it can be a hole down low, or PVC and LB as you mention, or Seal-Tite, etc. If you use a metal conduit, keep in mind there are special bonding requirements.
InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2009, 09:22 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 1,802
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

How would you run the ground wire outside?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Grampa Bud View Post
Your #6 ground should be connected to your meter box. Plus I could be wrong but it seems to me that the general consensus among all the pipe benders on this site is that your electrical system should only have one earth ground point, that being the #6 ground wire.
I believe he's referring to grounding conductor running from the sub-panel to earth.
jerryh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2009, 01:43 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 146
Rewards Points: 75
Default

How would you run the ground wire outside?


[quote=InPhase277;282590]I suppose you mean that you are running a feeder to your garage from the house?by quote]
Yes that is what I meant to say.
Plumbvoltage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2009, 01:43 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 146
Rewards Points: 75
Default

How would you run the ground wire outside?


Quote:
Originally Posted by jerryh3 View Post
I believe he's referring to grounding conductor running from the sub-panel to earth.
Yes

Advertisement

Plumbvoltage is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
switch lacking ground wire anervoustwitch Electrical 17 02-27-2009 05:12 PM
Installing light fixture.....ground wire? yummy mummy Electrical 15 02-19-2009 12:33 PM
connecting ground wire to ground screw amakarevic Electrical 10 12-24-2008 05:28 PM
Hot Tub Install--Grounding Rod Question statgeek_rob Electrical 16 09-15-2007 03:59 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts