Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-21-2009, 09:26 AM   #1
Wire Chewer
 
Red Squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,211
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

How to work with armored cable?


I ran a 240v heater to my panel and it uses armored cable. I had a hell of a time working with that stuff, and kept damaging the wire. There's got to be an easier way! Is there a special tool to use for that? I was just using a dremel and cutting off ends then twisting them off but it was very tedious.

Red Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2009, 09:51 AM   #2
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,586
Rewards Points: 6
Default

How to work with armored cable?


I find the Roto-split to do the job without damaging the conductors inside.

Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2009, 09:53 AM   #3
Member
 
47_47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Springville, NY
Posts: 1,456
Rewards Points: 0
Default

How to work with armored cable?


Try one of these
Attached Images
 
__________________
What we've got here is... failure to communicate. Some men you just can't reach. So you get what we had here last week, which is the way he wants it... well, he gets it.
47_47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2009, 10:24 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Rewards Points: 0
Default

How to work with armored cable?


You could cut the armored cable jacket like this
Attached Thumbnails
How to work with armored cable?-untitled.jpg  
rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2009, 01:40 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,506
Rewards Points: 0
Default

How to work with armored cable?


If I do not have the tool handy (the best option) I just start the cut with tin snips and turn off whats not needed and cut off the excess.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2009, 04:26 PM   #6
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 1,142
Rewards Points: 0
Default

How to work with armored cable?


I like to snap it at the length i need, twist the armour a little, grab the side cutters, cut off the excess and then trim up the armour. Make sure you use anti shorts(the little red things) when you are working with armour cable.
darren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2009, 04:38 PM   #7
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,794
Rewards Points: 20
Default

How to work with armored cable?


Quote:
Originally Posted by darren View Post
I like to snap it at the length i need, twist the armour a little, grab the side cutters, cut off the excess and then trim up the armour. Make sure you use anti shorts(the little red things) when you are working with armour cable.
X2
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2009, 07:08 PM   #8
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 0
Default

How to work with armored cable?


Quote:
Originally Posted by darren View Post
I like to snap it at the length i need, twist the armour a little, grab the side cutters, cut off the excess and then trim up the armour. Make sure you use anti shorts(the little red things) when you are working with armour cable.
be aware that many folks mistakenly call MC cable AC cable and the inverse. They can look identical from the outside.

AC cable has the bonding wire running through it. 18 AWG I think. MC does not have this bonding wire although there is an MC cable (manufacturers call it MCAP I believe) that has a #10 aluminum bonding wire in if the main conductors are #12.


You do not have to use the anti-short with MC cable although most guys do. Not sure why it would be required on AC and not on MC but that is how it is.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2009, 08:56 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Brooklyn, New York (NYC)
Posts: 1,124
Rewards Points: 0
Thumbs up

How to work with armored cable?


Quote:
Originally Posted by J. V. View Post
If I do not have the tool handy (the best option) I just start the cut with tin snips and turn off whats not needed and cut off the excess.
That's the way we worked it before the Roto Split came on the market! (Shhh... But if my boss would see me do it that way, in the good ol' days, I'd sure get an earful, blaming all the shorted connections for the next ten years on my method of cutting BX) But the REAL, legal, original way is to cut with a Hacksaw, diagonally. As one of the posters showed! (No matter what)Don't drink and Drive, Ever!!!
spark plug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2009, 09:02 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Brooklyn, New York (NYC)
Posts: 1,124
Rewards Points: 0
Thumbs up

How to work with armored cable?


nap (poster #8) In the last paragraph you state "You don't have to use the anti-short (Red Bushing) with it". Try to get past an inspector without using it. As a matter of fact. They come with a "Tip" to show through the box. (No matter what) Don't Drink and Drive, Ever!!!!!!
spark plug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2009, 09:38 PM   #11
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 0
Default

How to work with armored cable?


Quote:
Originally Posted by spark plug View Post
nap (poster #8) In the last paragraph you state "You don't have to use the anti-short (Red Bushing) with it". Try to get past an inspector without using it. As a matter of fact. They come with a "Tip" to show through the box. (No matter what) Don't Drink and Drive, Ever!!!!!!
not required per code or manufacturers directions. Inspector cannot enforce it if you want to argue it.

and realize, I said that is with MC, not AC.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2009, 11:27 AM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,506
Rewards Points: 0
Default

How to work with armored cable?


Quote:
Originally Posted by spark plug View Post
That's the way we worked it before the Roto Split came on the market! (Shhh... But if my boss would see me do it that way, in the good ol' days, I'd sure get an earful, blaming all the shorted connections for the next ten years on my method of cutting BX) But the REAL, legal, original way is to cut with a Hacksaw, diagonally. As one of the posters showed! (No matter what)Don't drink and Drive, Ever!!!
I never use a hacksaw on any metal cable, only FMC. The metal flex with no wires in it. I prefer the tool. But if I do not have one, then I do what I have to do.

J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Underground service entrance cable requirements. kgt55 Electrical 9 06-22-2009 06:55 AM
Cable issue or wiring issue? Duchey Electrical 57 12-15-2008 01:34 PM
No Signal From Tv Cable LJMSURG Electrical 17 10-11-2008 08:00 AM
1930s armored cable wiring Lisa_90 Electrical 9 08-01-2008 09:24 AM
Armored cable run outside in liquid flexible conduit m_driver Electrical 8 07-06-2008 02:15 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.