How To Wire Wall Heaters - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 04-16-2010, 05:45 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10
Lightbulb

How to wire wall heaters

I am building in my basement (lower level) and finishing a portion of it. I was given two Cadet heaters, both are 240 volts, but one is 1500 watts (6.25 amps)and the other is 4000 watts (16.67 amps) draw. i want to use them to heat the lower level rooms in the winter as Missouri can get pretty cold. I am not a novice and have wired lights and switches and installed receptacles many times but have never installed wall heaters. I have only worked with 15 and 20 amp circuits before, so the 240 volts makes me call for help!! I believe a 20 amp circuit with 12-2 or 12-3 wire will be sufficient for the 1500 watt heater but would like confirmation. The 4000 watt unit has me stumped. Can some one tell me (preferable with a couple of diagrams) how to wire these properly by code. Thanks so much--Denny

Advertisement

dddtaylor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2010, 06:25 PM   #2
A "Handy Husband"

Rewards Points: 2,354

How to wire wall heaters

The 1500 watt heater can be wired with 14-2 which will give you 15 amps de-rated to 80% (for continuous duty) or 12 amps. The 4000 watt heater is close to using 12-2 but I would wire with 10-2 which will give you 30 amps de-rated to 80% for 24 amps. Many would use 12-2 for the 4000 watt heater; 20 amps de-rated to 80% or 16 amps. The 80% de-rating is required for continuouis duty devices. Heaters are pure 240 volt devices and do not require a neutral so 3 wire cable is not required.

Advertisement

Old 04-16-2010, 06:31 PM   #3

How to wire wall heaters

Handy--Thanks for the info that gets me to the breaker but I still don't know how to install and wire the 30 amp breaker. Can you help with this too--Denny
Old 04-16-2010, 06:33 PM   #4