Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-04-2010, 01:58 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 9
Share |
Default

How to Wire Two Switched Receptacles


Hello all.

Wondering how I switch 2 duplex receptacles in series. Right now power goes first into single pole switch and then to the receptacles in series. It is all pre-wired with 14 gauge 2 wire. Guy at Home depot said it was possible. Maybe I have wired it wrong but it doesn;t work. Suggestions?

Many Thanks.

Avanzi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2010, 03:00 PM   #2
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,787
Default

How to Wire Two Switched Receptacles


Are these the only two receps on the circuit? Do
you want the whole recep switched or 1/2 switched and 1/2 hot continuously?

brric is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2010, 03:03 PM   #3
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 1,136
Default

How to Wire Two Switched Receptacles


At the first plug there should be a black under each brass screw and a white under each silver screw.

The last plug wired like the first one except there will only be two wires.

At the switch the whites should be together under a wire nut and the two blacks on the switch.
darren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2010, 06:24 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: New York
Posts: 1,722
Default

How to Wire Two Switched Receptacles


Darren is describing a middle-of-circuit and end-of-circuit receptacle:

http://www.make-my-own-house.com/hom...lectrical.html

Then you need to add your switch between the incoming black wire and the middle-of-circuit receptacle.
Jim F is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2010, 04:37 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 9
Default

How to Wire Two Switched Receptacles


The two receptacles are at the end of the run, power first into switch. I want all plugs switched so I don't need them hot. Me thinks I have to use three wire but I hope not.
Avanzi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2010, 06:15 PM   #6
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 1,136
Default

How to Wire Two Switched Receptacles


Follow what I said before and both those plugs will only be on when the switch is in the on position.
darren is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to darren For This Useful Post:
Avanzi (06-06-2010)
Old 06-05-2010, 06:18 PM   #7
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Default

How to Wire Two Switched Receptacles


120V------|sw|-- |Outlet|---|Outlet|
Neutral-----------|*****|---|****|
a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2010, 08:13 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 9
Default

How to Wire Two Switched Receptacles


Got it! Thanks all!

Avanzi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What type wire to use from transfer switch to outdoor outlet brjl Electrical 32 11-20-2013 08:36 AM
Proper Use of Green Wire Nuts HooKooDooKu Electrical 16 06-29-2012 06:41 PM
Decommissioning old armored wire circuit toddmanqa Electrical 6 12-04-2009 08:55 AM
New Dryer is 3 wire, receptacle is 4 Wire. thelimit Electrical 22 01-15-2009 09:59 AM
Is using a ground wire as neutral wire safe? Head Fred Electrical 9 12-18-2008 02:37 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.