Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-21-2013, 06:01 PM   #31
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 21
Share |
Default

How to wire a switch with a pilot light


But I don't have 2 black wires...one black one white one red one green

jdlight77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2013, 06:10 PM   #32
Member
 
Oso954's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Calif.
Posts: 1,405
Default

How to wire a switch with a pilot light


No problem. The red is your load.

Where it says "Remaining black wall box wire (Load) to Brass screw (A1)"
we are substituting the words "red wall box wire (load) to Brass screw (A1)"
Oso954 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2013, 07:10 PM   #33
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 21
Default

How to wire a switch with a pilot light


Okay I was getting really confused
jdlight77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2013, 11:40 PM   #34
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central Indiana (USA)
Posts: 1,316
Default

How to wire a switch with a pilot light


Quote:
Originally Posted by jdlight77 View Post
What happens as wired is pilot light stays lite all the time...I do have a volt meter just never used one before so not even sure I would understand it
Why do people who don't know how a basic voltmeter works do their own electrical work?

And, why would they buy a voltmeter without learning to use it?
__________________
Installation is the Reverse of Removal.
sirsparksalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2013, 11:49 PM   #35
Resi EC
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Kansas
Posts: 479
Default

How to wire a switch with a pilot light


Quote:
Originally Posted by Oso954 View Post
No problem. The red is your load.
What makes you think the red is the load?
Where does it say that the black is always feed? NEC, IRC? just because you wire it that way doesn't mean everyone does.
If the switch was wired the way it was drawn, and the pilot light is always on, and the light works with the switch, IMO the red is fed, black is load.

Get the volt meter, read the instructions, prove me wrong.
__________________
If at first you don't succeed .... do not work on live electrical
Gac66610 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2013, 12:52 AM   #36
DIY Enthusiast
 
sublime2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,086
Default

How to wire a switch with a pilot light


Quote:
Originally Posted by sirsparksalot View Post

Why do people who don't know how a basic voltmeter works do their own electrical work?

And, why would they buy a voltmeter without learning to use it?
This helps the OP how?
sublime2 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to sublime2 For This Useful Post:
Kyle_in_rure (06-22-2013)
Old 06-22-2013, 08:31 AM   #37
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 21
Default

How to wire a switch with a pilot light


Quote:
Originally Posted by sirsparksalot View Post

Why do people who don't know how a basic voltmeter works do their own electrical work?

And, why would they buy a voltmeter without learning to use it?
The reason we do our own electrical is because to replace an exsisting item is usually just an easy switch out, plus to just give you an idea we are a Church and had a refrigeration company in to look at the bad switch and they did nothing which cost us a lot of money, so now we are doing it ourselves.

As for why I have a voltmeter and don't know how to use it is someone gave it to me and it is in my tool box gor someone who would know how to use it to use if needed.

I also agree with the last poster that this comment doesn't help solve my problem.
jdlight77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2013, 09:15 AM   #38
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,336
Default

How to wire a switch with a pilot light


Ok, now I'm confused. Why would you bring in a refrigeration contractor to look at a switch? What is the switch for? Are you sure it is line voltage?
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to k_buz For This Useful Post:
jproffer (06-22-2013)
Old 06-22-2013, 09:19 AM   #39
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 21
Default

How to wire a switch with a pilot light


The switch is for our walk-in fridge...on the old switch the red was connected to the common
jdlight77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2013, 12:25 AM   #40
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central Indiana (USA)
Posts: 1,316
Default

How to wire a switch with a pilot light


Quote:
Originally Posted by jdlight77 View Post
The reason we do our own electrical is because to replace an exsisting item is usually just an easy switch out, plus to just give you an idea we are a Church and had a refrigeration company in to look at the bad switch and they did nothing which cost us a lot of money, so now we are doing it ourselves.

As for why I have a voltmeter and don't know how to use it is someone gave it to me and it is in my tool box gor someone who would know how to use it to use if needed.

I also agree with the last poster that this comment doesn't help solve my problem.
Just my opinion. Ain't really that easy, is it?

Can understand why you might think the refrigeration co. might help, but it won't. Electricians put the switches and wiring in, usually.
__________________
Installation is the Reverse of Removal.
sirsparksalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2013, 12:28 AM   #41
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central Indiana (USA)
Posts: 1,316
Default

How to wire a switch with a pilot light


Quote:
Originally Posted by sublime2 View Post
This helps the OP how?
It should indicate to him that he needs to bring someone in who knows a bit of what they're doing instead of doing it him/herself and making it worse. And I'll bet that they have their own voltmeter.

Again, my opinion, you're entitled to yours.
__________________
Installation is the Reverse of Removal.
sirsparksalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2013, 12:37 AM   #42
DIY Enthusiast
 
sublime2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,086
Default

How to wire a switch with a pilot light


Quote:
Originally Posted by sirsparksalot View Post

It should indicate to him that he needs to bring someone in who knows a bit of what they're doing instead of doing it him/herself and making it worse. And I'll bet that they have their own voltmeter.

Again, my opinion, you're entitled to yours.
You do realize THIS is a doing it yourself website, right?
sublime2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2013, 01:16 AM   #43
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 21
Default

How to wire a switch with a pilot light


Yes I realize this project hasn't been an easy swap out like we hoped, but that doesn't mean it couldn't have been. Plus that's why I also was on here looking for some expert advice, not someone really to act like I am stupid for admitting that I don't know how something works.

I also again have to agree with the last post again that this is a DIY forum so it would stand to reason, the person asking the question admittedly isn't an expert and asking for advice.
jdlight77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2013, 01:18 AM   #44
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central Indiana (USA)
Posts: 1,316
Default

How to wire a switch with a pilot light


Quote:
Originally Posted by sublime2 View Post
You do realize THIS is a doing it yourself website, right?
Really??
__________________
Installation is the Reverse of Removal.
sirsparksalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2013, 01:21 AM   #45
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central Indiana (USA)
Posts: 1,316
Default

How to wire a switch with a pilot light


Quote:
Originally Posted by jdlight77 View Post
Yes I realize this project hasn't been an easy swap out like we hoped, but that doesn't mean it couldn't have been. Plus that's why I also was on here looking for some expert advice, not someone really to act like I am stupid for admitting that I don't know how something works.

I also again have to agree with the last post again that this is a DIY forum so it would stand to reason, the person asking the question admittedly isn't an expert and asking for advice.
Not expecting you to be an expert. But some basic knowledge would be good.

BTW: have you tired any of the previous responses to your question, or shall we continue this circular tangent?

__________________
Installation is the Reverse of Removal.
sirsparksalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hot wires on both sides of switch RedRumLoki Electrical 4 11-20-2012 09:37 PM
3 and 4 way switches - power to first light mmrossen Electrical 3 12-04-2011 09:07 PM
New Pilot Light Switch - Neutral From Another Circuit OK? appleye1 Electrical 7 03-07-2011 08:23 AM
Wiring 2 light fixtures to same switch and add outlet RyanS2000 Electrical 13 10-10-2010 02:17 AM
3-way light with a twist Jeepsail Electrical 14 05-18-2010 01:24 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.