Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-21-2013, 09:05 AM   #16
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,361
Share |
Default

How to wire a switch with a pilot light


Do NOT break that tab. The load (light) must be connected to the same side as the pilot light in order for it work properly.

__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2013, 09:14 AM   #17
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 21
Default

How to wire a switch with a pilot light


Okay that's the way we wired it just as the diagram you posted showed..what we do not have is an additional white wire...and this is in side a walk in fridge
jdlight77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2013, 09:39 AM   #18
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 21
Default

How to wire a switch with a pilot light


Maybe I am just not understanding or getting it...
jdlight77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2013, 11:27 AM   #19
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,361
Default

How to wire a switch with a pilot light


Quote:
Originally Posted by jdlight77 View Post
Okay that's the way we wired it just as the diagram you posted showed..what we do not have is an additional white wire...and this is in side a walk in fridge
Somehow, this just ain't adding up. The original post stated that you DID have a while wire thus:

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdlight77 View Post
Hello we are trying to replace our current switch that has a pilot light with a new one.

We have 1 -Black, 1 - White, 1- Red, and 1 - Green wire to work with....
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2013, 11:42 AM   #20
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 21
Default

How to wire a switch with a pilot light


Yes we have one white wire...
jdlight77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2013, 11:52 AM   #21
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 21
Default

How to wire a switch with a pilot light


Here are some pictures of the switch we have and the wires on paper
Attached Thumbnails
How to wire a switch with a pilot light-forumrunner_20130621_125152.jpg   How to wire a switch with a pilot light-forumrunner_20130621_125203.jpg   How to wire a switch with a pilot light-forumrunner_20130621_125215.jpg   How to wire a switch with a pilot light-forumrunner_20130621_125225.jpg  
jdlight77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2013, 01:03 PM   #22
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,365
Default

How to wire a switch with a pilot light


What happens when it is wired like the above drawing?
Do you have a voltage tester? Can you measure the voltage between white/black and white/red and white/ground?
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2013, 01:36 PM   #23
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 21
Default

How to wire a switch with a pilot light


What happens as wired is pilot light stays lite all the time...I do have a volt meter just never used one before so not even sure I would understand it
jdlight77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2013, 03:09 PM   #24
Member
 
Oso954's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Calif.
Posts: 1,404
Default

How to wire a switch with a pilot light


Are the lights in the walk-in working properly ? On when switch is on, and off when switch is off ? The only problem is the pilot light staying on ?

If you answered yes to all of the above, switch the red and black wires. Black is your line (always hot) and should be on the black screw. Red is your load (switched hot) and should be on the brass screw.
Oso954 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2013, 03:24 PM   #25
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 21
Default

How to wire a switch with a pilot light


Yes light turns on and off inside and yes the pilot light stays on all the time. I want to say we tried the red and black switched but can try again.
jdlight77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2013, 05:06 PM   #26
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,361
Default

How to wire a switch with a pilot light


Black and red are swapped if the pilot stays lit while the light goes out.
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2013, 05:10 PM   #27
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,361
Default

How to wire a switch with a pilot light


Quote:
Originally Posted by Oso954 View Post
... Black is your line (always hot) and should be on the black screw. Red is your load (switched hot) and should be on the brass screw....
Incorrect.

The screws that are bridged together (black) must be connected to the load (RED) wire.

The lone brass screw must have the feed (black) wire.
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2013, 05:28 PM   #28
Resi EC
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Kansas
Posts: 479
Default

How to wire a switch with a pilot light


Quote:
Originally Posted by kbsparky View Post
Incorrect.

The screws that are bridged together (black) must be connected to the load (RED) wire.

The lone brass screw must have the feed (black) wire.
Maybe the red is feed, and the black is the switch leg.
Hard to say without testing.
__________________
If at first you don't succeed .... do not work on live electrical
Gac66610 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2013, 05:30 PM   #29
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,361
Default

How to wire a switch with a pilot light


You could be correct....
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2013, 05:46 PM   #30
Member
 
Oso954's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Calif.
Posts: 1,404
Default

How to wire a switch with a pilot light


Quote:
Originally Posted by kbsparky View Post
Incorrect.

The screws that are bridged together (black) must be connected to the load (RED) wire.

The lone brass screw must have the feed (black) wire.
From the Leviton instructions:
Quote:
Black wall box wire (LINE HOT) to either Black screw (Common).
• Remaining black wall box wire (Load) to Brass screw (A1)
Edit step 4 of instructions.


Last edited by Oso954; 06-21-2013 at 05:50 PM. Reason: added clarity
Oso954 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hot wires on both sides of switch RedRumLoki Electrical 4 11-20-2012 09:37 PM
3 and 4 way switches - power to first light mmrossen Electrical 3 12-04-2011 09:07 PM
New Pilot Light Switch - Neutral From Another Circuit OK? appleye1 Electrical 7 03-07-2011 08:23 AM
Wiring 2 light fixtures to same switch and add outlet RyanS2000 Electrical 13 10-10-2010 02:17 AM
3-way light with a twist Jeepsail Electrical 14 05-18-2010 01:24 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.