Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-23-2012, 07:46 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 24
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

How to wire a receptacle to a male plug.


What do I need, and how do I wire a GFCI receptacle to a male plug, to plug it into another outlet?

If someone can link me to all the parts I need (except the receptacle itself), that would be great.

ReefGuru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2012, 07:48 PM   #2
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,841
Rewards Points: 38
Default

How to wire a receptacle to a male plug.


I don't get this.

Are you trying to make a cord with a male plug on one end and a GFI receptacle on the other?
If so why not just buy one?

Also, you want every item, and every step to wire it? If so I repeat, why not just buy one?

__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2012, 07:48 PM   #3
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,340
Rewards Points: 0
Default

How to wire a receptacle to a male plug.


HUH?!

What I'm getting out of this is he wants to back feed a GFI with a male plug.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2012, 07:52 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 24
Rewards Points: 0
Default

How to wire a receptacle to a male plug.


I knew you'd ask.

Im setting up a saltwater aquarium.

Water + GFCI = Protection.

Also, Im using an electrical computer controller, called the ReefKeeper. Its a head unit that connects to a power strip, and you can program the outlets via the controller.

And don't ask me why, they strip isn't protected. So I got an idea. I'll wire a few GFCIs with waterproof covers through some conduit, and then each receptacle will have a male plug on the end to plug into an outlet on the computer controller power strip.
ReefGuru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2012, 07:55 PM   #5
jschaben
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: La Crosse, Kansas
Posts: 587
Rewards Points: 0
Default

How to wire a receptacle to a male plug.


Quote:
Originally Posted by ReefGuru View Post
What do I need, and how do I wire a GFCI receptacle to a male plug, to plug it into another outlet?

If someone can link me to all the parts I need (except the receptacle itself), that would be great.
Are you trying to make a GFCI protected extension cord?
For about 30 bucks you can get one at Home Depot, complete with a UL sticker.
http://www.homedepot.com/webapp/wcs/...0196%2d%5f%2dx


Edit - just read your second post, you musta been posting while I was typing.
__________________
John Schaben

"Where all think alike, no one is thinking very much"

Last edited by jschaben; 07-23-2012 at 07:59 PM.
jschaben is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2012, 07:59 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 24
Rewards Points: 0
Default

How to wire a receptacle to a male plug.


Ive looked at those before. But I just thought it would be nice to be able to put GFCIs wherever I want and wire them to a plug to...plug into the strip!
ReefGuru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2012, 08:05 PM   #7
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,340
Rewards Points: 0
Default

How to wire a receptacle to a male plug.


I'm not really following, you plug things into this controller, but where does the controller get power?
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2012, 08:08 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 24
Rewards Points: 0
Default

How to wire a receptacle to a male plug.


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
I'm not really following, you plug things into this controller, but where does the controller get power?
The controller is a head unit that connects to a computer via USB. There is a software that allows you to set times each plug turns on and off, and bunch of other features.

The power strip (which plugs into an outlet) is controlled by the computer programed head unit.
ReefGuru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2012, 08:10 PM   #9
"So I Re-Wired It"
 
MisterZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: NorthEast USA
Posts: 258
Rewards Points: 0
Default

How to wire a receptacle to a male plug.


Basically hes looking to make his own gfi extension cord. This is a horrible idea.
M8, decide where the fish tank is going and replace the nearest outlet with a gfi recept.
I doubt you will be moving fish tanks around once theyre full. Lol
MisterZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2012, 08:11 PM   #10
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,340
Rewards Points: 0
Default

How to wire a receptacle to a male plug.


So replace the outlet you plug the controller into with a GFI.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2012, 08:11 PM   #11
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,869
Rewards Points: 8
Default

How to wire a receptacle to a male plug.


brric is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to brric For This Useful Post:
MisterZ (07-23-2012), Speedy Petey (07-23-2012), stickboy1375 (07-23-2012)
Old 07-23-2012, 08:13 PM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 24
Rewards Points: 0
Default

How to wire a receptacle to a male plug.


Quote:
Originally Posted by MisterZ View Post
Basically hes looking to make his own gfi extension cord. This is a horrible idea.
M8, decide where the fish tank is going and replace the nearest outlet with a gfi recept.
I doubt you will be moving fish tanks around once theyre full. Lol
Believe me, this isn't a "horrible" idea. I build fish tanks for a living. But I appreciate your input.
ReefGuru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2012, 08:13 PM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 24
Rewards Points: 0
Default

How to wire a receptacle to a male plug.


Quote:
Originally Posted by brric View Post
So you want me to buy 12 of them?
ReefGuru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2012, 08:14 PM   #14
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 24
Rewards Points: 0
Default

How to wire a receptacle to a male plug.


Point is, I want to wire a receptacle to a plug. If anyone can help, please do.
ReefGuru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2012, 08:15 PM   #15
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,340
Rewards Points: 0
Default

How to wire a receptacle to a male plug.


The most legal way to do this is GFI the power source for the controller and use store bought extension cords.

__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
wiring a light fixture to an existing plug receptacle box? San Mike Electrical 7 09-19-2011 12:58 PM
ceiling fan wicked97 Electrical 4 08-21-2011 08:12 AM
convert 3 wire range junction box to receptacle filby Electrical 0 06-05-2011 01:33 AM
replacing 3 wire to 4 wire compressor fan - please advise! frazwr01 HVAC 2 06-27-2010 10:44 AM
how to wire romex to 2 3 ways to a half hot receptacle smoothinstall Electrical 3 11-30-2008 10:56 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.