Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-30-2009, 09:27 AM   #1
Average DIYer
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Michigan
Posts: 6
Share |
Default

How to wire new lights and circuit in a basement


Hello,

I am starting to add some florescent lights to my unfinished basement.

i am installing about 8 - 10 fixtures (two 32watt T8 bulbs/fixture)in 4 separate areas of the basement and would like the areas on separate switches. My plan is to do the following:

Use 14/2 600v wire
Install a new 15 amp CB and run a line from it to the 4 gang box
Run a line from each switch to each junction box for each light group
Run a line from each light to the appropriate group junction box and tie all the white / black / and grounds together respectively withing the junction box.

Is this correct?

How do I share the power in the 4 gang box?

In the 4 gang box I plan on tie all the whites together and all the grounds together. If my thinking is correct I can pig tail the black feed to each of the switches.

Is my thinking correct?

727driver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2009, 09:36 AM   #2
DIYer
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Virginia
Posts: 910
Default

How to wire new lights and circuit in a basement


What you propose sounds like it would work, but I think you are making it overly complicated.

Can you draw a picture of what you want to do?

Gigs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2009, 10:01 AM   #3
Member
 
300zx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 630
Default

How to wire new lights and circuit in a basement


Quote:
Originally Posted by 727driver View Post
How do I share the power in the 4 gang box?

In the 4 gang box I plan on tie all the whites together and all the grounds together. If my thinking is correct I can pig tail the black feed to each of the switches.

Is my thinking correct?
Yes your thinking is correct. You can pig tail the black feed to each of the switches.And your switch leg(Black going to lights) on the other part of each switch.
300zx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2009, 04:35 PM   #4
Journeyman Wireman
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Missouri
Posts: 90
Default

How to wire new lights and circuit in a basement


If you run on 14/2 to each switch either the black or the white will be a switch leg or a hot. So one white will make up with a black or blacks.
jbberns is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2009, 05:05 PM   #5
Member
 
300zx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 630
Default

How to wire new lights and circuit in a basement


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbberns View Post
If you run on 14/2 to each switch either the black or the white will be a switch leg or a hot. So one white will make up with a black or blacks.
I think that would confuse a person with no electrical exp.
300zx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2009, 08:15 PM   #6
Average DIYer
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Michigan
Posts: 6
Default

How to wire new lights and circuit in a basement


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbberns View Post
If you run on 14/2 to each switch either the black or the white will be a switch leg or a hot. So one white will make up with a black or blacks.
I am fairly handy around the house but as stated in the previous post I am not an electrican. I understand simple circuits, 3 way switches, and the service panel layouts but that is far as it goes right now.

I would need to see a picuture with a more detailed explanation to undertand eactly what you are getting at.
727driver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2009, 08:32 PM   #7
Journeyman Wireman
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Missouri
Posts: 90
Default

How to wire new lights and circuit in a basement


Are you running one cable two your switch or two? Not trying to confuse you, but don't want you to end up with a short.
jbberns is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2009, 08:56 PM   #8
Member
 
300zx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 630
Post

How to wire new lights and circuit in a basement


http://www.wiringhelp.com/electrical...-a-switch.html Look at second switch setup
300zx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2009, 09:01 PM   #9
Member
 
300zx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 630
Post

How to wire new lights and circuit in a basement


Video How to wire a switch
300zx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2009, 09:20 PM   #10
Pro Flooring Installer
 
rusty baker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: SW Missouri
Posts: 3,834
Default

How to wire new lights and circuit in a basement


I'm not an electrician, but I have wired my house and shop. Wouldn't they be better off to use 12-2?
rusty baker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2009, 09:35 PM   #11
Journeyman Wireman
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Missouri
Posts: 90
Default

How to wire new lights and circuit in a basement


15 amp breaker 14/2 is good enough. Unless he decides to add a bunch more lights!
jbberns is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2009, 09:39 PM   #12
Average DIYer
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Michigan
Posts: 6
Default

How to wire new lights and circuit in a basement


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbberns View Post
Are you running one cable two your switch or two? Not trying to confuse you, but don't want you to end up with a short.
There is 1 common feed for all 4 switches. Then one line going out to the first light in each group.


Quote:
Originally Posted by rusty baker View Post
I'm not an electrician, but I have wired my house and shop. Wouldn't they be better off to use 12-2?
14/2 is what was used throughout the entire house when it was built. I am also not installing any 20 AMP circuits. I believe 12/2 would be required for 20 amp circuits. Just my novice .02 worth though.
727driver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2009, 09:48 PM   #13
Journeyman Wireman
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Missouri
Posts: 90
Default

How to wire new lights and circuit in a basement


Do you understand the picture 300zx posted? That is what I'm talking about. From your 4 square box to the switch.
jbberns is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2009, 10:06 PM   #14
Average DIYer
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Michigan
Posts: 6
Default

How to wire new lights and circuit in a basement


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbberns View Post
Do you understand the picture 300zx posted? That is what I'm talking about. From your 4 square box to the switch.
No It isn't making sense right now...I will have to think about it some more. According the picture the feed is run to the light first. If this is the case how do I power the lights in the other areas? Am I still using a pig tail in the gang box?
727driver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2009, 10:39 PM   #15
Member
 
300zx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 630
Post

How to wire new lights and circuit in a basement


Power(feed) at light run one wire to swich on switch put black on one screw and white on the other(mark white black) and bare on ground then put switch in.At light your feed(power) white goes to nutral on fixture.Black from switch goes on fiture black .White from switch (color it black with marker) goes to black(feed) Just wire it the most common way to be safe (Power at switch then run your switch legs)

300zx is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Circuit advice for finishing basement Straightgrain Electrical 16 03-25-2009 09:07 AM
New lights in basement CooperChloe Electrical 11 01-11-2009 11:22 AM
hooking up dryer....bronx ny code SURFBUG Appliances 6 10-14-2008 09:41 PM
Adding can lights to an existing circuit TexasEd Electrical 1 06-17-2008 07:23 PM
Basement Renovation Project Howdy Electrical 6 03-13-2008 11:07 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.