How Wire An HP 1.0 Motor Dayton ? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-27-2012, 05:46 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

How wire an HP 1.0 Motor Dayton ?


Hi everyone, o.k I hope you can help me.
I need to replace this motor:

Capacitor Star Motor
HP 1.0
Volts. 115/208-230
Low voltage

O.k I looked inside the motor the wires are in this position :

Yellow - Black are togheter
Red - is empty
Brown - Orange are togheter
Black - White - Yellow are together

The wires are already attached to the motor.

o.k the wires from the main switch are WHITE and BLACK color.

Can you please tell me where should I wire this two.


O.k thanks for your help, I appreciate it.

Have a nice day...!

Advertisement

Conquistador is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2012, 06:34 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Rewards Points: 1,000
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

How wire an HP 1.0 Motor Dayton ?


How was the old one wired?

Advertisement

rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2012, 06:46 PM   #3
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,334
Rewards Points: 3,462
Blog Entries: 4
Default

How wire an HP 1.0 Motor Dayton ?


Is there a plate on the motor. usually the wiring for high and low is marked on a plate somewhere. If you post the model number maybe we can find it on the web.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to joed For This Useful Post:
plummen (01-27-2012)
Old 01-27-2012, 07:32 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

How wire an HP 1.0 Motor Dayton ?


Quote:
Originally Posted by joed View Post
Is there a plate on the motor. usually the wiring for high and low is marked on a plate somewhere. If you post the model number maybe we can find it on the web.
Ok this is the Model # 6K321BA

Tha label on the motor shows this:

Yellow and Black should go to line 1
Black, White and Yellow to line 2

Line means what ? the wires white and black color from the switch ?

Please take a look:

imageshak.us/photo/my-images/600/wp000159.jpg/


This photo is from the old motor:

imageshak.us/photo/my-images/845/wp000158.jpg/


ok. Thanks again.

Last edited by Conquistador; 01-27-2012 at 07:54 PM.
Conquistador is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2012, 07:44 PM   #5
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,630
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

How wire an HP 1.0 Motor Dayton ?


line is voltage..if both 2-wires in say line that is the 230 considered hi voltage,then if you see one wire with line and the other with neutral that is low 115V hookup
biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to biggles For This Useful Post:
plummen (01-27-2012)
Old 01-27-2012, 08:34 PM   #6
Idiot Emeritus
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Fernley, Nevada (near Reno)
Posts: 1,632
Rewards Points: 1,058
Default

How wire an HP 1.0 Motor Dayton ?


The Dayton (Grainger) 6K321 is a 1HP thermally protected capacitor-start motor that was built by Emerson and sold under the Dayton brand.

The leads are most likely either black or yellow, and numbered P1, P2, T2, T3, T4, T5 and T8.

The line leads are the incoming power. There are two of them, 3 if you count the ground.

The 115 volt connection to make the shaft turn clockwise when viewed from the back (with the shaft pointing away from you) is;

1) The incoming hot (usually black) connects to P1.

2) P2, T3 and T5 splice together.

3) The incoming neutral (usually white) connects to T2, T4 and T8.

For opposite shaft rotation;

1) Incoming hot connects to P1

2) P2, T3 and T8 splice together.

3) Incoming neutral connects to T2, T4 and T5.

Rob

P.S. I'll be on vacation from about 9 or 10 tonight (1/27) until wednesday (2/1), so someone else will need to answer any questions you have about this motor.

Advertisement

micromind is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ceiling fan wicked97 Electrical 4 08-21-2011 09:12 AM
convert 3 wire range junction box to receptacle filby Electrical 0 06-05-2011 02:33 AM
HALP! Master/Remote Dimmer troubles! Confuserated Electrical 9 02-12-2010 04:30 PM
hooking up dryer....bronx ny code SURFBUG Appliances 6 10-14-2008 10:41 PM
Stranded wire on screw connections BigJimmy Electrical 7 01-19-2008 03:42 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.
<--
-->