Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-13-2009, 10:47 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 165
Share |
Default

How to wire to GFCI's with one line?


I need help. I need a wiring diagram to show me how to wire two GFCI with only one line and two loads (one load attached to each GFCI). When I removed the original outlets the non GFCI's outlets were connected with a jumber from the load of one to the line of the other but the main feeding line was connected accross both. Hope I did not make this confusing.

Can I connect GFCI 1 to the feeding line and add a jumber from this GFCI 1 line connection to GFCI 2 and just connect the load circuit one to each GFCI?

This bath has 4 plugs, I do not who would need 4 in a bath but that is the way it was and if it was.

gante is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2009, 03:10 AM   #2
Tool Geek
 
PaliBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Pacific Palisades CA
Posts: 2,509
Default

How to wire to GFCI's with one line?


When you buy a new GFCI the package comes with a bunch of GFCI "Protected" labels because the most common way to wire a bathroom GFCI circuit is to install one GFCI device at the head of the circuit and install the bathroom downstream duplex outlets to the upstream GFCI Load terminals. Install the GFCI Protected labels on the faceplate of the protected downstream duplex outlets.

Quote:
from Pass & Seymore FAQ
Q: How many receptacles can be installed and protected on the load side a Pass & Seymour/Legrand GFCI?

A: The number of receptacles installed downstream of a GFCI will be determined by the size of the branch circuit and the estimated load. It is not uncommon to have four to six receptacles being protected downstream from a GFCI.
Don't connect the Bath lights to the GFCI circuit unless it requires GFCI protection e.g. a light in the shower.

.

__________________
Disclaimer
& Stay Safe
.....Bob Lavery
PaliBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2009, 11:28 AM   #3
Tool Geek
 
PaliBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Pacific Palisades CA
Posts: 2,509
Default

How to wire to GFCI's with one line?


Here is another illustration of using a GFCI's Load terminals:
Attached Thumbnails
How to wire to GFCI's with one line?-gfci-wiring.jpg  
__________________
Disclaimer
& Stay Safe
.....Bob Lavery
PaliBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2009, 01:15 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,946
Default

How to wire to GFCI's with one line?


Where two load lines branch off at an outlet box with a receptacle, use just one GFCI receptacle unit with line terminals connected to the feeding line. Connect both ongoing load (sub)circuits to the GFCI load terminals.
__________________
Stop wasting time re-adjusting the pattern. Have several lawn sprinklers, one for each pattern.

Last edited by AllanJ; 03-14-2009 at 01:24 PM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2009, 01:50 PM   #5
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,826
Default

How to wire to GFCI's with one line?


Quote:
Originally Posted by PaliBob View Post

Don't connect the Bath lights to the GFCI circuit unless it requires GFCI protection e.g. a light in the shower.

.
A light in a shower does NOT need GFI protection.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2009, 06:40 PM   #6
Tool Geek
 
PaliBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Pacific Palisades CA
Posts: 2,509
Default

How to wire to GFCI's with one line?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
A light in a shower does NOT need GFI protection.
Pete of course you're right unless there is a listing requirement in the light or there is a local Code amendment.
__________________
Disclaimer
& Stay Safe
.....Bob Lavery
PaliBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2009, 08:04 PM   #7
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,826
Default

How to wire to GFCI's with one line?


Quote:
Originally Posted by PaliBob View Post
Pete of course you're right unless there is a listing requirement in the light or there is a local Code amendment.
Precisely!
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2009, 10:50 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 165
Default

How to wire to GFCI's with one line?


Well, what I did is I installed two GFI's in the box for the bathroom. This bathroom has this box with four outlets. I thought about using only one GFI and connect the two loads to the load of the single GFI what I did not want to have an empty hole next to it. Any way, I connected the main line to GFI 1 and jumped it to the line terminals on GFI 2. Then I connected the two load lines, one to each GFI. Is this fine too?. It seems to work fine. I guess I am just splitting the line between the two GFI's. I really don't expect the four outlets to be used at the same time. I would have prefered to have only one GFI but I did not want to deal with replacing the "two space" box with a "single space" box.
gante is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2009, 11:30 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 780
Default

How to wire to GFCI's with one line?


Actually you only needed one GFCI. Wire as per PaliBob picture for the GCFI and first receptacle then attach wires from the from the other screws on the first regular receptacle to the third receptacle and from it to the fourth. All would be GFCI protected. What you did will also be fine.

hayewe farm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Supply Line Touching Roof MikeinBurien Electrical 14 07-13-2008 11:26 AM
Dryer Grounding??? Traci_howdyadothat Electrical 7 05-27-2008 01:14 PM
Installing Fluorescents in Garage rzrbkpk Electrical 26 04-08-2008 09:00 PM
Stranded wire on screw connections BigJimmy Electrical 7 01-19-2008 02:42 PM
Load vs. line wire gvernea Electrical 5 01-16-2008 12:50 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.