Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-22-2011, 08:38 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 2
Share |
Talking

How wire 2 20a breaker w/bar


I want to wire a titan that runs on 40a at 220v. I want to use a disconnet box. It can be fused or unfused, but the question is how is the disconnect suppose to wired. The box has 4 lugs. Two on each side and a lug in the lower middle of the box for both grounds. I own a volt meter. I know I have the right votage. I do not know how to wire the harness of the Titan to the disconnect box. I want to #8/2 becuase the Titan requires the gauge of wire. I believe that the postion of the wire does not matter because the current flows directly through the two wires from the two breakers to the Titan through the box lugs, so the postion does not matter, but I am not sure, but both breakers will trip together because they are on the same bar. Can some give me a head up on this.

Thnks

fantaman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2011, 01:44 AM   #2
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,526
Default

How wire 2 20a breaker w/bar


There are two sets of two terminals each in the disconnect. One pair is the "line" side, which should be connected to the power source from the main panel. The other pair is the "load" side, which should be connected to the "Titan". It is somewhat important that the line and load connections not be reversed. They will be labeled inside the disconnect. As you determined, all the ground connections go to the ground lug or ground bar attached to the case of the disconnect.

Oh, by the way, what the heck is a "Titan"?

mpoulton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2011, 08:09 AM   #3
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,779
Default

How wire 2 20a breaker w/bar


And I hope you are using a 2 pole 40A breaker, not a "2 20a breaker".
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2011, 07:00 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 2
Default

How wire 2 20a breaker w/bar


Quote:
Originally Posted by mpoulton View Post
There are two sets of two terminals each in the disconnect. One pair is the "line" side, which should be connected to the power source from the main panel. The other pair is the "load" side, which should be connected to the "Titan". It is somewhat important that the line and load connections not be reversed. They will be labeled inside the disconnect. As you determined, all the ground connections go to the ground lug or ground bar attached to the case of the disconnect.

Oh, by the way, what the heck is a "Titan"?
A titan tankless water heater runs at 40a 220v
www.tankthetank.com
fantaman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2011, 07:52 PM   #5
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,526
Default

How wire 2 20a breaker w/bar


Ah, that makes sense then. I hope you're not expecting much hot water from that thing - it's rather small as tankless heaters go.
mpoulton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2011, 11:16 PM   #6
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

How wire 2 20a breaker w/bar


Are you using this for the whole house appaction or point of use ? if latter it will be not too bad but for whole house IMO that is way too small unless you are in very warm area it may get by with it.

That 8.5 KW unit is not very big at all.

I just want make sure you understand this before you get this unit hook up I have few customers were disappoint with the performace with tankless water heater.

And of course that was a much larger unit btw.,,

Merci,
Marc

__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring Size Calculations for New Service CorinthWest Electrical 7 12-07-2010 11:36 AM
HALP! Master/Remote Dimmer troubles! Confuserated Electrical 9 02-12-2010 03:30 PM
hooking up dryer....bronx ny code SURFBUG Appliances 6 10-14-2008 09:41 PM
Why do you see 20A Breaker, #12 wire and 15A receptacal? twilightcall Electrical 10 01-13-2008 12:36 PM
Electrical Sub Panel #4 burial wire w/60 breaker FrankA Electrical 4 12-31-2007 07:19 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.