How To Wire - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-22-2005, 11:15 AM   #1
Newbie
 
rspainhower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 26
Rewards Points: 25
Default

How to wire


How should I wire this bathroom? Also which breaker should I tie it into? I have one 15 amp breaker that is just running the Bath Fan upstairs and one 15 amp breaker just running the GFCI plug in the Bathroom upstairs.
Attached Thumbnails
How to wire-bathroom.jpg  

Advertisement

rspainhower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2005, 01:16 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 59
Rewards Points: 75
Default

How to wire


rspainhower,

Is this a new bathroom with no wiring at all?

Advertisement

'Andyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2005, 10:36 AM   #3
Newbie
 
rspainhower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 26
Rewards Points: 25
Default

How to wire


yes it is a new bathroom in my unfinished basement.
rspainhower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2005, 11:25 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 59
Rewards Points: 75
Default

How to wire


rspainhower,

Started a Word.doc on Friday as a reply. My wife has kept me busy on my own current project all week end. Will try to finish it today and upload it to you.
'Andyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2005, 09:55 PM   #5
Long-Time DIYer
 
Mike Swearingen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: On Albemarle Sound In Northeastern NC
Posts: 1,460
Rewards Points: 500
Default

How to wire


I'm no pro electrician, just along-time DIYer, but basically this should be pretty simple wiring.
The black (hot) wires go to the brass screws and the white (neutral) go to the silver screws on the switches, and then color connect on the fixtures. The bare (grounds) go the green screws on the switches and green wires of the fixtures. If the boxes are metal, also pigtail the grounds to the green screw on the box. Twist all wires together before wire-nutting for a pigtail, and use the screw connections, not the stab-ins.
If you only have one GFCI outlet, I don't think that this will be sufficient for a bathroom. However, all outlets wired in the same circuit past the GFCI also will be ground-fault protected, if you add some (and wire the GFCI correctly).
You really need at least three or four double receptacles (6-8 outlets) minimum in a bathroom, I think. You will probably need them all to plug in electric shavers, hair dryers, electric toothbrushes, etc., etc. all at the same time.
(Wait for one of the pros here to confirm all of this.)
Good Luck!
Mike
Mike Swearingen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2005, 12:10 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 59
Rewards Points: 75
Default

How to wire


rspainhower,



Youv'e probably had your first shower in the new bathroom waiting for this
Attached Files
File Type: doc There several ways of running wire to do this.doc (26.5 KB, 97 views)
'Andyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2005, 12:12 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 59
Rewards Points: 75
Default

How to wire


rspainhower,

Wiring run sketch attached.
Attached Thumbnails
How to wire-wire-runs.jpg  

Advertisement

'Andyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Which low voltage wire scozzer Electrical 2 02-18-2007 11:56 PM
Old house, new light fixture, too many wires Persephonee Electrical 3 01-15-2007 09:58 AM
ok to leave chandelier third wire unconnected? gonzales9 Electrical 5 01-12-2006 09:10 PM
Does a 6 x 12ga wire nut exist? peeks Electrical 1 10-02-2005 10:58 AM
wire size wire to 10kw furnace? lochcarron Electrical 1 04-10-2005 08:43 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts