Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-08-2012, 04:22 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 41
Share |
Default

how to upgrade an older home electrical


I want to upgrade a fusebox panel and probably the conduits.
ITs an older single story small home with 2 br and a bath.
All the conduits are running in the attic ontop of the rafters.

If i get a new "service" is it ok to run the conduit above
the rafters instead of thru the rafters?

If the receptacles are really loose in the cinderblocks should
I think about getting a whole new "electrical service" done?

thx
john_bry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 04:42 AM   #2
DIY staff
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kane county,Illinois
Posts: 20,388
Default

how to upgrade an older home electrical


New wires are usually pulled through the existing conduit----even when old the conduit is seldom replaced.

Is there a reason you wish to do that?

New boxes can be added to the existing conduit if the old boxes aren't suitable for todays needs.

I'm not an electrician--one will be along soon,

Where are you? Most places in Canada and the US allow Romex in residential construction---so wiring could also be added using that instead of conduit.
__________________
New members: Adding your location to your profile helps in many ways.--M--
oh'mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 05:57 AM   #3
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Oviedo, FL near Orlando
Posts: 227
Default

how to upgrade an older home electrical


Ditto, what oh'mike said. FYI, "electrical service" usually refers to some combination of, the weatherhead, meter can, and, first and/or largest panel. Get detailed estimates to know how each electrician defines that term. Replacing all the rest of the wiring is a whole house rewire.

A whole house rewire is probably unnecessary. Additional circuits may be advisable. Existing conduit is safe above the rafters and grandfathered in.

Conduit resists physical damage much better than romex, and it lasts forever, except for rust. To rust out conduit requires chronic and severe water damage, seldom found in attics. Loose conduit joints can compromise your ground. And if you have wobbly boxes, you may have hidden, loose joints. The easy fix is to include a bare wire with any replacement pull.

Rafters are load bearing. There are building codes that specify the size and location of holes. For safety, know before you drill.

Expansive hydraulic cement might be the answer to loose boxes in cinder block. It expands to wedge the boxes in tight. Regular cement shrinks. Fill a plastic bag and cut off a small piece of the corner. Use it like a pastry chef. Fill between box and block.

Last edited by Glennsparky; 10-08-2012 at 06:46 AM.
Glennsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
fireplace dimensions on older home...can it burn wood? JPinSD General DIY Discussions 6 12-18-2010 08:40 AM
Rewiring older home Rt2frdm Off Topic 4 08-23-2010 11:35 AM
OLDER HOME, 100 amp box etc.. BADAZZVOLKS Electrical 2 10-29-2008 02:36 PM
Please Help - Weird electrical issue affecting home network sxpsxpsxp Electrical 23 02-03-2008 11:42 AM
Polarized plug light fixture- Hardwire to home electrical? timdavis3824 Electrical 3 07-09-2007 12:34 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.