Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-09-2012, 09:02 AM   #1
US ARMY RETIRED
 
ACR_SCOUT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Virginia
Posts: 100
Share |
Default

how to transition to romex from conduit


Hello all.
I am in the planning stages for adding lights and receptacle to my finished garage.

I have a surface mounted sub panel. For the lights I can go one of two ways. I can run conduit to the switch location then conduit up into the attic and run romex from light to light. This could be simpler, cheaper and neater. How do I go through the drywall? Do I put a junction box in the attic to terminate at?

The other option is to surface mount conduit to every connection.

Thank you.

ACR_SCOUT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2012, 09:19 AM   #2
TTW
Member
 
TTW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Maine
Posts: 350
Default

how to transition to romex from conduit


Run / attach the conduit to a junction box, and then put a clamp for the romex, not a problem.

You should to run a green ground wire in the conduit along with the hot and neutral so the romex has a nice solid ground. technically not necessary, as the conduit acts as a ground, but a good idea.

__________________
#1 - If you don't know what you're doing - get a licensed electrician!
#2 - If you follow my advice and something bad happens see # 1
Electricity bites hard, and it could be the last thing you feel... Good Luck!
TTW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2012, 09:23 AM   #3
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,335
Default

how to transition to romex from conduit


Stub the EMT into the attic and put a romex to EMT connector on that end.

__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to k_buz For This Useful Post:
ddawg16 (12-09-2012), plummen (12-09-2012), Rochsolid (12-09-2012), TTW (12-09-2012)
Old 12-09-2012, 09:45 AM   #4
TTW
Member
 
TTW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Maine
Posts: 350
Default

how to transition to romex from conduit


I was thinking THHN in the conduit. That cool doohicky would work if running NM in the conduit, but no room for wirenuts!
__________________
#1 - If you don't know what you're doing - get a licensed electrician!
#2 - If you follow my advice and something bad happens see # 1
Electricity bites hard, and it could be the last thing you feel... Good Luck!
TTW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2012, 09:46 AM   #5
US ARMY RETIRED
 
ACR_SCOUT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Virginia
Posts: 100
Default

how to transition to romex from conduit


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
Stub the EMT into the attic and put a romex to EMT connector on that end.
Show that connector begs two questions. Are you allowed to run romex in conduit? If not how do you make the junction without a box?
ACR_SCOUT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2012, 09:47 AM   #6
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,335
Default

how to transition to romex from conduit


Quote:
Originally Posted by TTW View Post
I was thinking THHN in the conduit. That cool doohicky would work if running NM in the conduit, but no room for wirenuts!
Wirenuts...huh?
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to k_buz For This Useful Post:
electures (12-09-2012), Rochsolid (12-09-2012)
Old 12-09-2012, 09:47 AM   #7
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,335
Default

how to transition to romex from conduit


Quote:
Originally Posted by ACR_SCOUT View Post
Show that connector begs two questions. Are you allowed to run romex in conduit? If not how do you make the junction without a box?
As long as the pipe isn't outside.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to k_buz For This Useful Post:
electures (12-09-2012), TTW (12-09-2012)
Old 12-09-2012, 10:37 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,503
Default

how to transition to romex from conduit


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
Stub the EMT into the attic and put a romex to EMT connector on that end.

This fitting is designed for conduit to Romex transition. I have used this connector to transition to metal flex before, but I do not think the connector is listed for the purpose.

There are no connections here. Just Romex through the conduit and then out the end of this connector.
You could use a regular connector and bushing instead if you prefer.
If you garage is finished, why do you want to surface mount the wiring method for lighting and receptacles?
If you have drywall up, you should have everything recessed and and hidden from site.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2012, 12:12 PM   #9
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,633
Default

how to transition to romex from conduit


If you are running individual wires in the conduit, you have to transition to a box for the connections.
It could be right at the ceiling, and just poke the romex into a box with the approved connector.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2012, 12:26 PM   #10
US ARMY RETIRED
 
ACR_SCOUT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Virginia
Posts: 100
Default

how to transition to romex from conduit


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbfan View Post
If you are running individual wires in the conduit, you have to transition to a box for the connections.
It could be right at the ceiling, and just poke the romex into a box with the approved connector.
Can the box be in the attic?
ACR_SCOUT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2012, 12:39 PM   #11
TTW
Member
 
TTW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Maine
Posts: 350
Default

how to transition to romex from conduit


Quote:
Originally Posted by ACR_SCOUT View Post
Can the box be in the attic?
Yes, it just needs to be accessible, as in not buried under drywall or something.
__________________
#1 - If you don't know what you're doing - get a licensed electrician!
#2 - If you follow my advice and something bad happens see # 1
Electricity bites hard, and it could be the last thing you feel... Good Luck!
TTW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2012, 12:41 PM   #12
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,335
Default

how to transition to romex from conduit


Didn't like the answers you got in the other thread?
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2012, 12:48 PM   #13
US ARMY RETIRED
 
ACR_SCOUT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Virginia
Posts: 100
Default

how to transition to romex from conduit


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
Didn't like the answers you got in the other thread?
The Android app I use acted like it didn't post so I hit submit a second time. Now I see that both of them posted. Sorry.
ACR_SCOUT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2012, 02:08 PM   #14
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,365
Default

how to transition to romex from conduit


Merged threads.

beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to beenthere For This Useful Post:
ACR_SCOUT (12-09-2012)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Romex in Conduit Outdoors starrapido Electrical 3 11-27-2012 10:00 AM
Does the romex need to be in Electrical Conduit naty0629 Electrical 3 05-01-2012 02:18 PM
Can I mix conduit and romex ACR_SCOUT Electrical 33 02-07-2012 10:46 AM
Chicago Conduit Rules Wrigleyville Electrical 6 01-28-2010 06:49 PM
Cost Difference Between Conduit & Romex Shawns4 Electrical 39 08-25-2008 05:01 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.