How To Test Wiring Insulation? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 08-24-2010, 06:53 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

How to test wiring insulation?

Hey guys,
The HVAC condenser blew up yesterday after calling an A/C Repair guy to fix it (it'd been tripping the breaker for 2 days.) The disconnect at the unit outside was melted, and the insulation was burned 2-3 inches back from the connection point. He replaced the disconnect and turned it back on, there was a popping sound, and the motor blew.

The repair guy told me it is due bad wiring in the ceiling. I've a couple years experience as an electricians hand, so I'm comfortable working with Electrical, but never had need to test the wiring insulation. I've tested the line and it is getting 119 volts per leg with no variance without a load. I'd like now, to test the insulation so I can be positive it is not the wiring at fault. I've got a digital clamp meter with a 500v insulation tester. It didn't come with instructions for the insulation tester. My questions is, how do I use this to test the insulation, and am I correct in thinking that the problem was with the old condenser and not the wiring?

Advertisement

Shea_Close is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2010, 07:04 PM   #2

Rewards Points: 2,000

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shea_Close View Post
1 the insulation was burned 2-3 inches back from the connection point.

2 bad wiring in the ceiling.
1 high contact resistance + 20 A = high temp connection = localized melting of the insulation
and
high contact resistance can equal burned out motor.

2 it may be bad but I doubt that is a logical conclusion from what you've posted.

Advertisement

Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2010, 07:10 PM   #3

So, are you saying the likely culprit is a bad connection at the contact points?