How To Tell If My Neutral Is Bonded To My Ground? - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-06-2012, 01:19 AM   #16
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,219
Rewards Points: 2,408
Default

How to tell if my neutral is bonded to my ground?


Quote:
Originally Posted by simanco View Post
The grounding electrode is under the new meter box. You should be able to see it in the attached picture.

I can't see any copper coming into the panel but there is so much copper in that corner it could still be hiding from me. Is it possible to ground the panel via all that metal conduit shown in the picture?

Jim
Thank You, that is an allowed point of earth grounding. If you have metal water pipes you should have a grounding electrode conductor running to those also .. to within 5' of where the main line enters the house. Local codes sometimes require it to be closer than 5'. The key is the main line must be underground for at least 10' after leaving the house in order to be a required electrode. If it isn't then your not required to have a water pipe bond.

Advertisement


Last edited by Stubbie; 07-06-2012 at 01:22 AM.
Stubbie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2012, 01:21 AM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 65
Rewards Points: 75
Default

How to tell if my neutral is bonded to my ground?


No metal water pipes, so I don't have to worry about that one.

Thanks,
Jim
simanco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2012, 01:24 AM   #18
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,219
Rewards Points: 2,408
Default

How to tell if my neutral is bonded to my ground?


Then your good ... some others may have some questions but IMO your fine.
Stubbie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2012, 03:09 PM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 65
Rewards Points: 75
Default

How to tell if my neutral is bonded to my ground?


Hey all,

I just pushed aside the bundle of wires over one of my bus bars and found the little item in the attached picture. My guess is that's the bonding strap that bonds the neutral and grounding bars. It is definitely running under the plastic strip that runs between the bars.

It's loose and I think it should be tightened down. Am I correct?

Thanks,
Jim
Attached Thumbnails
How to tell if my neutral is bonded to my ground?-bondstrap.jpg  
simanco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2012, 03:38 PM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,976
Rewards Points: 2,048
Default

How to tell if my neutral is bonded to my ground?


Yes it should be tightened down. While you are at it, you might as well tighten down all the other screws and set screws holding wires in place. Flip off each breaker before tightening the screw(s) on it. (An experienced person should tighten the big lugs holding the fat service wires in place.)

Advertisement

__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.

Last edited by AllanJ; 07-21-2012 at 08:44 PM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
3 Wire Set Up . . . Neutral Wire Tied to Ground Wires irishMonster Electrical 14 10-21-2010 09:20 AM
240 volt load/appliance and ground vs neutral kgize Electrical 7 04-23-2010 12:40 AM
Ground question. mystery guest Electrical 5 07-24-2008 01:47 PM
Nuetral from feeder cable to main panel question? TW Lucas Electrical 14 05-08-2008 12:33 PM
Hot Tub Install--Grounding Rod Question statgeek_rob Electrical 16 09-15-2007 03:59 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts