How To Replace Socket In Recessed Housing? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-30-2011, 02:11 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Southern California
Posts: 27
Rewards Points: 25
Default

How to Replace Socket in Recessed Housing?


I'm planning on replacing the existing Edison sockets in multiple 5" recessed cans to be GU24 sockets. The existing cans are standard cans where the socket is attached to the top of the housing (I can attach pics if required but the sockets look like any other Edison socket).

Here is a link to the GU24 sockets I am looking at:

http://www.maxlite.com/PDFs/FocusSheets/GU24Socket.pdf

1) How do I know which socket fitment I need to buy?

2) How would the GU24 socket be attached to the housing? I am not seeing in my head how the new socket would replace the existing Edison socket and how it would be secured.

Thanks in advance!

Advertisement

chewbakarox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2011, 07:14 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

How to Replace Socket in Recessed Housing?


Simply use the screw-in adapter (MLGSML) that is shown in the link you provided.

Those are one-way adapters, and once installed, you won't be able to change your mind and go back to using edison base bulbs.

Advertisement

__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2011, 12:42 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Southern California
Posts: 27
Rewards Points: 25
Default

How to Replace Socket in Recessed Housing?


Quote:
Originally Posted by kbsparky View Post
Simply use the screw-in adapter (MLGSML) that is shown in the link you provided.

Those are one-way adapters, and once installed, you won't be able to change your mind and go back to using edison base bulbs.
KB - I am holding off on the screw-in adapter as a last resort. My worry is that the adapter will add length to the bulb, causing it to hang out below the bottom of the trim.

I unscrewed the socket from the housing and took a couple pics. Any thoughts on which GU24 replacement socket would work?
Attached Thumbnails
How to Replace Socket in Recessed Housing?-img_0068.jpg   How to Replace Socket in Recessed Housing?-img_0072.jpg  
chewbakarox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2011, 01:12 PM   #4
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

How to Replace Socket in Recessed Housing?


Can you get that mounting tab out of the top of the can without destroying it? If so, reuse it on a replacement socket.
Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2011, 10:56 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Southern California
Posts: 27
Rewards Points: 25
Default

How to Replace Socket in Recessed Housing?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Code05 View Post
Can you get that mounting tab out of the top of the can without destroying it? If so, reuse it on a replacement socket.
Code - I'm not sure if I can get to it. I need to get up in the attic and check out the top of the housing.

If I do end up somehow modifying the mounting bracket (or creating a new bracket) to fit a different socket, will I have any issues with code compliance?

My other question is, once I do figure out how to mount it, what is the correct way to splice the wiring? Can I simply use some wire nuts within the bulb housing, or would I have to run the wires up to the j-box on top?
chewbakarox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2011, 02:06 PM   #6
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

How to Replace Socket in Recessed Housing?


Code allows you to modify a fixture using listed parts. The site says they are.

As far as modifying a part/bracket, inspector decides if it is acceptable.

If you can not reuse that bracket, you are going to have a heck of a time getting something to fit.

All connections must be made in the J-box on the fixture and not in the bulb housing.

You realize that adapter only adds 1/2".
Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2011, 06:22 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Southern California
Posts: 27
Rewards Points: 25
Default

How to Replace Socket in Recessed Housing?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Code05 View Post
Code allows you to modify a fixture using listed parts. The site says they are.

As far as modifying a part/bracket, inspector decides if it is acceptable.

If you can not reuse that bracket, you are going to have a heck of a time getting something to fit.

All connections must be made in the J-box on the fixture and not in the bulb housing.

You realize that adapter only adds 1/2".
Thanks...I think I will give the adapter a try and just see how it looks. Remounting the socket is sounding like a royal pain.

Advertisement

chewbakarox is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
when to replace chimney marchaels Building & Construction 2 09-07-2011 08:36 PM
Replace or sister floor joists WillK Building & Construction 6 03-09-2011 09:55 PM
installed recessed lights but now switch does not work auggie77 Electrical 2 08-02-2009 11:11 AM
Adding recessed lighting where old fixture was ConstantChange Electrical 4 01-15-2009 05:42 PM
Light Socket Won't Hold Light Bulb colhollywood Electrical 3 08-16-2008 09:28 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts