Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-19-2013, 07:25 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Australia
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

How to replace the architrave switch?


I need to replace the architrave switch. I have checked online, but the switch is different to mine. Most switches online has only three wires. But my one has four. I wonder if anyone can tell me the difference between the four and how to replace it?

Much appreciated.
Attached Thumbnails
How to replace the architrave switch?-architrave-switch.jpg   How to replace the architrave switch?-light-switch.jpg  

smoyi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2013, 09:14 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 27,518
Rewards Points: 4,152
Default

How to replace the architrave switch?


Sounds like you have a three way switch instead of a two way.
Can you turn the light on from more then one place with two differant switches? That would take a three way switch.
You need to be looking someplace local for that switch, electrical supply, hardware store ECT.

joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2013, 10:12 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,970
Rewards Points: 2,036
Default

How to replace the architrave switch?


Switches with four terminals are used for lights controlled by switches in three or more locations. Also for certain kinds of equipment where both hot wires are switched as opposed to just one.

To find out for sure you would need either the switch instructions or to conduct tests by taking a multimeter and measuring continuity between every combination and permutation of terminals taken two at a time. Repeat the tests with the switch in the other position.

If the switch is defective, it will require intuition that experienced electricians have to interpret the test results. (You don't need an electrician's license to have that intution.)
__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2013, 10:24 AM   #4
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,130
Rewards Points: 3,054
Blog Entries: 4
Default

How to replace the architrave switch?


Is this possibly a low voltage controlled system?
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2013, 11:58 AM   #5
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

How to replace the architrave switch?


Unless there are other switches that control the same light, maybe you have a double-pole switch?

Did you check for replacement switches at Mitre10?
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2013, 12:51 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,497
Rewards Points: 500
Default

How to replace the architrave switch?


Well as usual, 4-way switches are called something else in other parts of the world...

[Readers in the UK should read "two-way" for the American "three-way" and "intermediate" or "crossover" switch for the American "four-way".]...
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Multiway_switching

Billy_Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replace Photocell with Toggle Switch AberKat1016 Electrical 1 06-21-2012 09:40 PM
3 way switch replacement in 1923 old house elcc1958 Electrical 3 02-06-2012 09:42 PM
Existing switch, replace with combo switch/outlet shujinko Electrical 4 04-30-2011 06:19 PM
Modification to an existing pump switch DRBLKJK Electrical 10 08-23-2009 04:06 PM
looking to replace a rotary switch Unregistered Electrical 1 03-31-2004 01:57 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.