How To Replace A 2 Gang Switch Box With A 3 Gang Box? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-16-2012, 02:18 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Nashville
Posts: 254
Rewards Points: 254
Default

How to replace a 2 gang switch box with a 3 gang box?


What would be the best way to remove the existing box?

Advertisement

smokey847 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2012, 02:28 PM   #2
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 8,038
Rewards Points: 2,874
Default

How to replace a 2 gang switch box with a 3 gang box?


Is the box nailed from the side or is there a bracket in front of the stud? Nails can be cut with a hacksaw blade inserted next to the stud.

You may find it easier to cut the larger hole and see what you are dealing with.

Advertisement

__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2012, 03:13 PM   #3
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,964
Rewards Points: 2,324
Default

How to replace a 2 gang switch box with a 3 gang box?


You also want to make sure you can fit a 3 gang box in it's place.

Ask how I know this!!
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2012, 03:25 PM   #4
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Rewards Points: 1,000
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

How to replace a 2 gang switch box with a 3 gang box?


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbfan View Post
You also want to make sure you can fit a 3 gang box in it's place.

Ask how I know this!!
Gets interesting when you remove the box and find out that there is a 2x4 or 2x6 on both sides of the box. Had that happen before. Now if there is no specialty dimmer or anything else required I just change something over to a double switch. Or a switch and outlet combination
__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2012, 05:40 PM   #5
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,240
Rewards Points: 2,390
Default

How to replace a 2 gang switch box with a 3 gang box?


Quote:
Originally Posted by rrolleston View Post
Gets interesting when you remove the box and find out that there is a 2x4 or 2x6 on both sides of the box. Had that happen before. Now if there is no specialty dimmer or anything else required I just change something over to a double switch. Or a switch and outlet combination
That's why I always probe the side of the existing box for space before I open the wall. Don't ask me why I have learned to do that
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2012, 05:44 PM   #6
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,240
Rewards Points: 2,390
Default

How to replace a 2 gang switch box with a 3 gang box?


Quote:
Originally Posted by rrolleston View Post
Gets interesting when you remove the box and find out that there is a 2x4 or 2x6 on both sides of the box. Had that happen before. Now if there is no specialty dimmer or anything else required I just change something over to a double switch. Or a switch and outlet combination
That's why I always probe the side of the existing box for space before I open the wall. Don't ask me why I have learned to do that

To the OP:

After you insure space for the larger box, mark and cut the wall surface. Put a pry bar between the stud and the box and open some room for a saw blade. Cut the box nails with a sawsall (best) or a hacksaw (more work and I am lazy).

Advertisement

__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Carrier Infinity 69 Trouble Code 42 bodya1 HVAC 4 12-05-2010 07:43 PM
hard to fit duplex switch and dimmer in 2 gang. please help fabian Electrical 9 01-18-2010 08:54 AM
Light switch installation problems pc_clone Electrical 8 11-30-2009 10:25 PM
Help: All I wanted to do was replace a light switch MicahPDX Electrical 5 07-04-2009 01:13 PM
looking to replace a rotary switch Unregistered Electrical 1 03-31-2004 01:57 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts