Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-07-2012, 11:13 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Fox Valley, WI
Posts: 202
Share |
Default

How to remove the switch


I'm removing the switch to control this via a wall mounted switch, just as simple as black to black and white to white?

Thanks!
Attached Thumbnails
How to remove the switch-image-1154848894.jpg  
ryan50hrl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2012, 11:25 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: IL
Posts: 466
Default

How to remove the switch


Well you could always leave the switch and just leave it the in on position. Looks like a bandsaw in a shop. Probably best not to disable a switch and have it inoperable. Could be confusing to a user and thus a safety risk if they try to kill the saw in an emergency and nothing happens.

Make sure you use a wall switch rated for proper HP of the motor. A residential grade 15A switch is typically only rated for a 1/2HP load. They make beefier switches for motors (typically listed as commercial grade). They are only a few dollars more expensive.
curiousB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2012, 12:49 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Fox Valley, WI
Posts: 202
Default

How to remove the switch


It's actually for a dust collector, not the saw. The switch has gone bad and won't stay on. I already bought a 15 amp, motor control switch that's rated for the dust collector motor.
ryan50hrl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2012, 06:32 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Fox Valley, WI
Posts: 202
Default

How to remove the switch


Anyone?
ryan50hrl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2012, 06:44 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 513
Default

How to remove the switch


If its a single pole switch, all you need to do is take the two wires off the switch and nut them together.
Evstarr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2012, 07:41 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Fox Valley, WI
Posts: 202
Default

How to remove the switch


There's 3 black and two white to the back of tw switch
ryan50hrl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2012, 09:37 PM   #7
Member
 
Msradell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Louisville Kentucky
Posts: 849
Default

How to remove the switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by ryan50hrl View Post
There's 3 black and two white to the back of tw switch
Based on that I'm assuming yours is wired like the top diagram in your picture. If that's the case then as you asked you just need to connect the 3 blacks together and the 2 whites.
Msradell is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring in a 4-way Switch RickSene Electrical 5 04-09-2013 07:25 PM
Remove a switch timcsi Electrical 6 08-08-2012 07:56 PM
Carrier Infinity 69 Trouble Code 42 bodya1 HVAC 4 12-05-2010 06:43 PM
Remove light switch broadbear Electrical 2 03-29-2009 01:39 PM
single gang single pole switch on fan fabian Electrical 14 03-05-2009 01:11 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.