How To Prep For Outdoor Jacuzzi Electrical - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-29-2011, 03:09 PM   #1
dIYHell
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: East Bay, California
Posts: 229
Rewards Points: 150
Default

How to prep for Outdoor jacuzzi electrical


I am redoing some landscape at my home where I will be installing some flagstone. before I set it I was thinking of burying some electrical conduit for a Jacuzzi tub I may get in the future.

would it work to run wire for two seperate 20 amp circuits and a single solid copper for dedicated grounding?

if so would it be possible to run this all in one underground conduit?

Advertisement

rocketdoctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2011, 03:19 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,959
Rewards Points: 2,314
Default

How to prep for Outdoor jacuzzi electrical


You need to decide whitch tub you may go with.
some require up to 60 amp 120/240 volt, while others only require 120 volt.

The power for the tub can not be a cable.

Advertisement

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2011, 03:43 PM   #3
dIYHell
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: East Bay, California
Posts: 229
Rewards Points: 150
Default

How to prep for Outdoor jacuzzi electrical


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbfan View Post
You need to decide whitch tub you may go with.
some require up to 60 amp 120/240 volt, while others only require 120 volt.

The power for the tub can not be a cable.
thanks, so I am assume you mean by cable the flexible steel conduit. I was planning on running in the PVC outdoor conduit.
rocketdoctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2011, 09:44 PM   #4
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

How to prep for Outdoor jacuzzi electrical


Quote:
Originally Posted by rocketdoctor View Post
thanks, so I am assume you mean by cable the flexible steel conduit. I was planning on running in the PVC outdoor conduit.
The cable can be with or without steel conduit however with spa and Jazzcui will have specfic code to follow and there will be no bare ground conductor at all and it have to be in PVC conduit.

If I were you I will size it plenty big so you can add the THHN/THWN conductors when you get the spa or jacuzzi.

So therefore the conduit size it will be 3/4 inch that is the smallest I will use but 1 inch can be used as well.

some of them will take a bit of power so plan it ahead for larger conductor if the situation called for.

There is a bit of infomation in NEC Art. 680 that will cover this situation very well. and any local codes will be addtion to it.

Merci.
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2011, 04:06 AM   #5
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

How to prep for Outdoor jacuzzi electrical


1) Install an equipotential bonding grid below the finished surface where the tub will be placed, before pouring any slab or setting pavers. Leave a tail stubbed up for connection to the tub's bonding lug(s). Document the installation and have it inspected!!

2) Plan on having a small pedestal nearby to mount your disconnect on. A short wood post, or similar structure, or blank section of a deck railing is a good start.

Install your PVC conduit to that point, and stub up just below where the disconnect box will be. That will save you plenty of time in the long run.

AS for the conduit from the disconnect box to the spa tub itself, I'd leave that for later until you actually have the tub on site, since they vary from model to model ....
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to kbsparky For This Useful Post:
frenchelectrican (03-30-2011)
Old 03-30-2011, 01:07 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,510
Rewards Points: 2,008
Default

How to prep for Outdoor jacuzzi electrical


Quote:
Originally Posted by kbsparky View Post
1) Install an equipotential bonding grid below the finished surface where the tub will be placed, before pouring any slab or setting pavers. Leave a tail stubbed up for connection to the tub's bonding lug(s). Document the installation and have it inspected!!

2) Plan on having a small pedestal nearby to mount your disconnect on. A short wood post, or similar structure, or blank section of a deck railing is a good start.

Install your PVC conduit to that point, and stub up just below where the disconnect box will be. That will save you plenty of time in the long run.

AS for the conduit from the disconnect box to the spa tub itself, I'd leave that for later until you actually have the tub on site, since they vary from model to model ....
I am glad you mentioned the grid. I was ready to.
OP. Listen up!!!!!!!! Equipotential Bonding Grid required!!!!!!!!

Advertisement

J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to J. V. For This Useful Post:
frenchelectrican (03-30-2011)
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Old Bathroom - all electrical on one circuit? how to change? Steve19 Electrical 16 03-14-2011 10:32 AM
Electrical Questions from a Foreigner mark_anderson_u Electrical 4 09-10-2010 07:46 AM
Changing from Electrical Cook Top to Electrical Range EkS Electrical 24 06-22-2010 11:43 AM
How to install new electrical box without attic access gilmores33 Electrical 10 02-14-2010 08:46 PM
Electrical box replace,addiitions, city permits and looking for an electrician ramchy Electrical 3 08-02-2009 12:12 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts