Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-10-2009, 09:34 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Share |
Default

How to prep and install bx.


This is just a little guide I made for prepping bx.

What I have.




Cutting the bx.



Sliding the jacket off.



Remove ALL of the paper!



Pull bonding strip back, wrap around cable, insert bushing.



Slide connector on so that red "tab" from bushing sticks out with wires.




Sorry for poor font in pictures...don't blame me, blame jpeg.

rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2009, 09:37 PM   #2
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Default

How to prep and install bx.


red heads are not required just so you know.

chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2009, 09:42 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Default

How to prep and install bx.


Quote:
Originally Posted by chris75 View Post
red heads are not required just so you know.

Thanks, I didn't think they were.
rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2009, 09:44 PM   #4
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Default

How to prep and install bx.


Quote:
Originally Posted by rgsgww View Post
Thanks, I didn't think they were.
Dont get me wrong, I usually use them, and I like you post alot. but I do like to state the facts also.
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2009, 10:13 PM   #5
My License Ain't 4 Sale..
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 1,813
Default

How to prep and install bx.


Also, some cables state they are not to be terminated with set screw connectors. I personally prefer saddle grip connectors, or even the two-screw type that resemble romex connectors.

And if you really wanted to be anal, you could get the healthcare type AC which has a bonding strip AND a green ground wire. Redundant grounding.

Last edited by InPhase277; 01-10-2009 at 10:15 PM.
InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2009, 01:31 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Default

How to prep and install bx.


Quote:
Originally Posted by InPhase277 View Post
Also, some cables state they are not to be terminated with set screw connectors. I personally prefer saddle grip connectors, or even the two-screw type that resemble romex connectors.

And if you really wanted to be anal, you could get the healthcare type AC which has a bonding strip AND a green ground wire. Redundant grounding.

I've seen the other connectors, I knew some cable couldn't be terminated with screw connectors, didn't think many cables had requirements.

Healthcare type AC? That sounds like a waste with all of that grounding. I suppose it might help in emi/rfi rejection.
rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2009, 02:25 PM   #7
My License Ain't 4 Sale..
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 1,813
Default

How to prep and install bx.


Quote:
Originally Posted by rgsgww View Post

Healthcare type AC? That sounds like a waste with all of that grounding. I suppose it might help in emi/rfi rejection.
Maybe, but the Code calls for (in Art. 517) a redundant grounding system where procedures are performed on patients. This includes checkups and dental procedures. If one ground fails then there is another. Hate to kill a patient while getting his teeth cleaned.

There must be at least two grounds in a metal raceway, and the raceway can be one of them. So that means everything gets wired in conduit with a ground wire pulled, or bonded AC cable with a second ground. Hospital grade receptacles are required where patients sleep.
InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2009, 03:02 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Default

How to prep and install bx.


Quote:
Originally Posted by InPhase277 View Post
Maybe, but the Code calls for (in Art. 517) a redundant grounding system where procedures are performed on patients. This includes checkups and dental procedures. If one ground fails then there is another. Hate to kill a patient while getting his teeth cleaned.

There must be at least two grounds in a metal raceway, and the raceway can be one of them. So that means everything gets wired in conduit with a ground wire pulled, or bonded AC cable with a second ground. Hospital grade receptacles are required where patients sleep.


Yeah, it sounds like two grounds are safer.

Hospital grade receptacles are marked with a green dot on the front, right?

I've always wondered how they wired tvss's and transfer switches in hospitals, they must be pretty big.
rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2009, 08:40 PM   #9
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

How to prep and install bx.


Quote:
Originally Posted by rgsgww View Post
Yeah, it sounds like two grounds are safer.

Hospital grade receptacles are marked with a green dot on the front, right?
Oui ya got it right.


Quote:
I've always wondered how they wired tvss's and transfer switches in hospitals, they must be pretty big.
Speaking of transfer switches in Hosptail they are pretty huge depending on the size and set up and many place will have more than one transfer switch the last hosptail I work on { in USA } have four yeah four transfer switches.

Here how this place set up

Generator 1 TS1 Generator 2 TS2 Normal power TS3 and there is a foruth one will shread non circital ciruits if one of the generators fail and yeah both generators are at 750 KW size each and I did ran it with load test by putting a full load run on generator power and it handle pretty good with one unit at 81% full load so both running it will take about 40ish% load each that for everything on it.

If one of the generator fail for some reason the fourth transfer swtich will active by shreading non circical circuits so that way the geneator stay at 80 % or less load on the unit { yes they can run full 750 but the way it set up only need about 600Kw }

Merci,Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2009, 07:57 AM   #10
Res Ipsa Loquitur
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Southeastern PA
Posts: 363
Default

How to prep and install bx.


Nothing wrong with a Dremel but if you have a lot of BX to do, it would be worth buying a BX roto cutting crank type tool. For about $30. it cuts the jacket cleanly with a few turns of the handle.
__________________
Did you ever stop to think, then forget to start again?
handyman78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2009, 10:27 AM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Default

How to prep and install bx.


Quote:
Originally Posted by handyman78 View Post
Nothing wrong with a Dremel but if you have a lot of BX to do, it would be worth buying a BX roto cutting crank type tool. For about $30. it cuts the jacket cleanly with a few turns of the handle.
Yeah, I thought about it...but I don't have alot of bx to do.
rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2009, 01:23 AM   #12
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

How to prep and install bx.


The only time I used the dermil or air powered cutoff wheel when I get into large BX/MC cables for smaller one which it a common size I used the Rotozip it is a time saver and also prevent nicking the conductors as well.

I go thru alot in both resdentail and commercal side.

Merci,Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2009, 07:20 AM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Default

How to prep and install bx.


Quote:
Originally Posted by frenchelectrican View Post
The only time I used the dermil or air powered cutoff wheel when I get into large BX/MC cables for smaller one which it a common size I used the Rotozip it is a time saver and also prevent nicking the conductors as well.

I go thru alot in both resdentail and commercal side.

Merci,Marc

Just a question but...do you prefer mc or romex? What do you think is better?
rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2009, 01:12 AM   #14
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

How to prep and install bx.


Quote:
Originally Posted by rgsgww View Post
Just a question but...do you prefer mc or romex? What do you think is better?

It depend on the situation where it run and there are some area the code do not allowed to run romex { right now I don't have the NEC code book due it left in the office [ Yeah I am in Paris France now }

For unfinshed garage C'est simple MC useally work fine unless you have the wall enclosed.

Merci.Marc

frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
When to install tile flooring? MT Stringer Remodeling 4 10-28-2008 08:49 PM
Door Prep Questions BigJimmy Building & Construction 5 10-12-2008 03:49 PM
Wall Prep for new bath tub Randell Tarin Building & Construction 6 03-25-2008 11:26 PM
prep work for a cathedral ceiling smallcrpt Carpentry 3 01-17-2007 07:57 PM
Floor Prep for Tile Floor etopf Flooring 2 09-05-2006 08:32 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.