Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 09-12-2010, 04:29 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 0
Share |

how to operate my 120ac garage door motor via low voltage switch

Recently bought a 20'ish year old house which has an automatic garage. The door operates via a switch inside the garage - I opened the switch and it appears as it is a high voltage switch. Basically red/black/white and ground are feed into the switch via another conduit. If you flip the switch to up, the red and common connect, where down is black and common. I have a Liftmaster wireless receiver and wireless keypad that I want to connect to the door system. The reciever only has two think wires which are support to connect to the doors switch or the 'common' and 'command'. Problem is the motor does not have these terminals, and the switch that the liftmaster wants I believe is a low voltage switch.

How can I connect my wireless system to my motor? I suppose I need some sort of relay, but do not know where to start?

Thanks

DanDaMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2010, 04:48 PM   #2
nap
You talking to me?

how many terminals does the receiver have? Do you have a schematic for the internal connections of the receiver?

what is the manuf and model of the opener as well as the wireless unit you have?. Maybe somebody can dig something up online to help if we had that info.

nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2010, 05:09 PM   #3
I=E/R

What brand and model, should be on some type of tag somewhere. Is the opener plugged into a 120V outlet?
a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2010, 06:36 PM   #4

Quote:
Originally Posted by nap View Post
how many terminals does the receiver have? Do you have a schematic for the internal connections of the receiver?