How Old Is My Square D Qo Load Center - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-25-2012, 10:01 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

How old is my Square d qo load center


Selling my house,and the buyers think i put a new panel in without permit..
Panel was there when i bought house..but doesnt have inspection sticker..
It is a square d qo load center 40265-354-04 how do I determine how old it is?
The cover Cat#QOC20U100F Series SO1

Advertisement


Last edited by Skipper 888; 08-25-2012 at 10:14 AM.
Skipper 888 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2012, 10:22 AM   #2
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 7,651
Rewards Points: 2,616
Default

How old is my Square d qo load center


What part of the country are you in?

Most PoCo's will not reconnect a meter without the go-ahead from the building and safety department....who will not give that go-ahead unless you had a permit.

How old is the house?

It could be the previous owner did it if the panel is in fact newer.....

Did you compare your panel to a neighbors? If they are the same...chances are it's original.

Advertisement

__________________
Even if you are on the right track, you will still get run over if you just sit there.

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2012, 10:23 AM   #3
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,400
Rewards Points: 2,462
Default

How old is my Square d qo load center


It is not that old. Why, is something wrong with it, other than not having the sticker? Not every area inspects Electrical installs. What that means, is if they allow home owners, or licensed electricians to do the work, the city does not need to come in to inspect the work.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2012, 10:48 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

How old is my Square d qo load center


Im in N.J. it is a newer panel...Just wanted to prove it was installed befoer i purschaced...wiitch was in 2000
Skipper 888 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2012, 12:30 PM   #5
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,899
Rewards Points: 2,152
Default

How old is my Square d qo load center


You can't prove anything with just the age of the panel. WHY is this such an issue??
MAN I hate home inspectors!
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Speedy Petey For This Useful Post:
gregzoll (08-25-2012)
Old 08-25-2012, 12:35 PM   #6
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Toronto Ontario
Posts: 1,165
Rewards Points: 500
Default

How old is my Square d qo load center


if it was a main panel it was either done live or with a permit. Contact your municipality, they should have a record if it was permitted. It may just not have gotten the sticker.
__________________
Sarcasm is my friend
I'm here to learn too, i do mostly commercial/industrial/new construction and this place is a great way to pick up tips on residential from some good electrical minds. Excuse the spelling, my phone has a mind of it's own.
andrew79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2012, 02:59 PM   #7
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,400
Rewards Points: 2,462
Default

How old is my Square d qo load center


Quote:
Originally Posted by Skipper 888 View Post
Im in N.J. it is a newer panel...Just wanted to prove it was installed befoer i purschaced...wiitch was in 2000
There is your problem, you are in Jersey. As for the panel, so what if it is from around the new Century. Not a problem, no issue.

Advertisement

__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Square D load center QO20M100 LAA2of3 Electrical 32 01-09-2013 06:46 PM
Square D Load Center Conversion George6488 Electrical 3 07-23-2012 05:31 PM
portable generator to load center old blue Electrical 1 07-06-2012 01:41 PM
Load Center Generater Interlock in Cook County, IL shilohqdog Electrical 2 02-20-2011 04:57 PM
Load center vs. bottom fed Panel Board. Ugh. wmldwilly Electrical 8 04-23-2009 08:48 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts