Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-09-2007, 06:20 PM   #1
Lehigh Valley PA
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 76
Rewards Points: 75
Question

How much wire to leave in box?


How much wire are you required, or do you leave in a switch box or receptacle box?
I know to leave about 8" for rough inspection but how much should you have (or shouldn't have) for final inspection?
I have quite a bit after connecting the switches but don't really like cramming all that wire back into the box.

Is there a general rule for this?
The one box I have is a single gang with one GFCI in it.
The other box is a 3 gang with 4 switches in it. (one is a double)

Thanks.

Nhrafan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2007, 06:46 PM   #2
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 1,151
Rewards Points: 518
Default

How much wire to leave in box?


I know in Canada, it is 6" left in the box for joints and connecting to devices.

darren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2007, 06:56 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 682
Rewards Points: 500
Default

How much wire to leave in box?


3 inches from the face of the box.
__________________
Master Electrician
jwhite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2007, 07:15 PM   #4
Lehigh Valley PA
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 76
Rewards Points: 75
Default

How much wire to leave in box?


Thanks guys!!1

Nhrafan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2007, 09:25 AM   #5
Member
 
mt232's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 117
Rewards Points: 75
Default

How much wire to leave in box?


Quote:
Originally Posted by jwhite View Post
3 inches from the face of the box.

is that after the recepticle is connected?
mt232 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2007, 04:44 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 682
Rewards Points: 500
Default

How much wire to leave in box?


Quote:
Originally Posted by mt232 View Post
is that after the recepticle is connected?
300.14 does not specify. So I would have to say that it must always be able to extend 3 inches from the face of the box.
__________________
Master Electrician
jwhite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2007, 04:49 PM   #7
They're all fixer-uppers
 
J187's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: MA
Posts: 991
Rewards Points: 500
Default

How much wire to leave in box?


Quote:
Originally Posted by jwhite View Post
3 inches from the face of the box.

And at least 6" inside right? So in the case of a shallow box or something the 6" is more prevelant? Is that right?
J187 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2007, 05:03 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 682
Rewards Points: 500
Default

How much wire to leave in box?


I would read the section to say that if any demsion of the box opening is less than 8 inches you use the 3 inch from the face of the box rule. If not then you use the 6 inch rule.

__________________
Master Electrician
jwhite is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Old house, new light fixture, too many wires Persephonee Electrical 3 01-15-2007 09:58 AM
Extending length of wire wingman Electrical 7 03-05-2006 06:47 PM
ok to leave chandelier third wire unconnected? gonzales9 Electrical 5 01-12-2006 09:10 PM
Does a 6 x 12ga wire nut exist? peeks Electrical 1 10-02-2005 10:58 AM
wire size wire to 10kw furnace? lochcarron Electrical 1 04-10-2005 08:43 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.