Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-26-2009, 12:48 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 26
Rewards Points: 25
Default

How much is too much?


I am wiring an upstairs remodel project that will be inspected when the rough in is complete. I have pulled all my wire into the boxes, but I have a tendency to pull heavy. Some of my boxes have over a foot of extra wire hanging out. I used large capacity plastic boxes so I have plenty of room. I was just wondering how much is actually too much to leave?

TReally is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2009, 01:05 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

How much is too much?


Excess for inspection....I think 6" beyond the outer box is all that is required
I usually leave around 8", some cases more - if its the only wire in the box

Excess to be able to fit in the box is another matter
Only 1 wire 12" will probably fit, 2 wires more difficult
3 or more...depending upon #12 or #14 may not fit 12" for each

Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2009, 01:44 PM   #3
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 1,151
Rewards Points: 518
Default

How much is too much?


If you can't fold the wires in the box neatly then you probably have to much. I like leaving extra(8-10"), nothing more frustrating then going into a box where the wires are only 2 inches long.
darren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2009, 12:22 AM   #4
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

How much is too much?


Most case 6 to 8 inches useally work fine for single and two gang box but before you go that route you will need extra length of conductor due you will have to tie the ground conductor together and fold it first so you have pigtail sticking out nice.

Then do the netural conductor { useally white } next and wirenutted if in switch box and fold it back neat otherwise leave it out for dupex recpectale { that will depending on single or multigang box } then the last is hot conductor you may end up make multi pigtail if have couple switches or receptales.

If you are dealing with GFCI please pay attetion to the line and load side that part will save your headache down the road if not done right.

Merci,Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2009, 08:17 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: PA
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

How much is too much?


Code requires min. of 6 inches at each box but must have min 3 in out of box fro device connection. Hope this makes sense.

Last edited by 007brian; 09-27-2009 at 10:50 PM.
007brian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2009, 08:38 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,970
Rewards Points: 2,036
Default

How much is too much?


You can leave some of the cable slack inside the wall.

You can trim the end of each conductor to about six inches after fastening the cable to the studs and stripping off the jacket for the portion entering the box. Box clamps should hold onto the end of the cable jacket, not just the conductors.

__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.