Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-25-2008, 01:39 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 30
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

how much is too much for 15 amps


can I run 7 receptacles and 8 canister lights off of one 15 amp breaker, they are for bedrooms

samiller1980 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2008, 01:49 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 1,202
Rewards Points: 0
Default

how much is too much for 15 amps


I don't think it really matters what you run off of the breaker, as long as the breaker rating is appropriate for the wire size. You can use #14 wire (at least in the U.S.) on a 15A branch.
I don't think there is any limit on the number of receptacles or lights that can be on any one branch circuit. I could be wrong, so if someone who is more familiar with the code knows otherwise, please say so.

The real issue is what you are planning to plug into those receptacles.
You don't want to have the breaker popping all the time.

__________________

KE2KB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2008, 02:04 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Rewards Points: 0
Default

how much is too much for 15 amps


Sure you can, just like KE2KB said:
"The real issue is what you are planning to plug into those receptacles.
You don't want to have the breaker popping all the time."

You could put -ALMOST- all of the receptacles in a home off one circuit.
rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2008, 02:10 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 1,802
Rewards Points: 0
Default

how much is too much for 15 amps


Quote:
Originally Posted by samiller1980 View Post
can I run 7 receptacles and 8 canister lights off of one 15 amp breaker, they are for bedrooms
Sure. Most receptacles I've seen draw 0 amps.
jerryh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2008, 02:44 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Apple Valley, MN, USA
Posts: 999
Rewards Points: 0
Send a message via AIM to theatretch85
Default

how much is too much for 15 amps


Quote:
Originally Posted by jerryh3 View Post
Sure. Most receptacles I've seen draw 0 amps.

Haha, thats a good one jerry!

If you have 100 watt bulbs in each of those canister lights, you're looking at 800 watts which is pretty close to 7 amp (actually like 6.66amps). That being said, you have already used about half the circuits capacity just on lighting alone; id keep that in mind when you think about what you will be plugging into those outlets.
theatretch85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2008, 02:46 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 0
Default

how much is too much for 15 amps


Quote:
can I run 7 receptacles and 8 canister lights off of one 15 amp breaker, they are for bedrooms
Yes........AFCI's of course.
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2008, 03:01 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 1,802
Rewards Points: 0
Default

how much is too much for 15 amps


Quote:
Originally Posted by theatretch85 View Post
Haha, thats a good one jerry!

If you have 100 watt bulbs in each of those canister lights, you're looking at 800 watts which is pretty close to 7 amp (actually like 6.66amps). That being said, you have already used about half the circuits capacity just on lighting alone; id keep that in mind when you think about what you will be plugging into those outlets.
I try. I wouldn't do it. I run electric space heaters in my bedrooms during the winter and window a/c units in the summer. Either or these coupled with 600-800 watts of lighting would be pushing it.

Last edited by jerryh3; 10-25-2008 at 06:47 PM.
jerryh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2008, 06:23 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,497
Rewards Points: 0
Default

how much is too much for 15 amps


If I have the option, I like to run lighting off a separate breaker. Then if the outlet circuit trips, you still have lights.

Or if an office building and multiple lighting only circuits, you can alternate hallways and offices on separate circuits. Then if one is off, the adjoining room still has light.
Billy_Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2008, 06:55 PM   #9
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Rewards Points: 0
Default

how much is too much for 15 amps


Quote:
Originally Posted by Billy_Bob View Post
If I have the option, I like to run lighting off a separate breaker. Then if the outlet circuit trips, you still have lights.

I've always thought that is the strangest reasoning to keep receptacles and lighting separate. Guess I just been doing this to long to see the obvious?
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2008, 07:51 PM   #10
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,565
Rewards Points: 58
Default

how much is too much for 15 amps


You can't in Canada. 12 outlets is the limit.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2008, 10:42 AM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 0
Default

how much is too much for 15 amps


Most of my house has 15 amp breakers and 14 gauge wiring; orig. owner/builder thought he was saving money. Now, when lights are on and the wife runs the high amp vacuum...pop...breaker reset. there also should have been more home runs in the kitchen but no, not this guy. My house in Durango, CO had all 20 amp and 12 gauge wiring and never had a problem. IMHO one will never be sorry for running 20 amp on 12 gauge albeit more expensive initially.
steel dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2008, 05:51 PM   #12
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Rewards Points: 0
Default

how much is too much for 15 amps


Quote:
Originally Posted by steel dude View Post
Most of my house has 15 amp breakers and 14 gauge wiring; orig. owner/builder thought he was saving money. Now, when lights are on and the wife runs the high amp vacuum...pop...breaker reset. there also should have been more home runs in the kitchen but no, not this guy. My house in Durango, CO had all 20 amp and 12 gauge wiring and never had a problem. IMHO one will never be sorry for running 20 amp on 12 gauge albeit more expensive initially.

Its all in the layout, nothing to do with 20 amp vs 15 amp. And if your kitchen is wired to code, then you got what you got, its not the electricians fault the original builder/owner was cheap.
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2008, 03:54 PM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 0
Default

how much is too much for 15 amps


Quote:
Originally Posted by joed View Post
You can't in Canada. 12 outlets is the limit.
12 devices is the limit which includes switches, recepts, lights and anything else you could think of tying into a circuit... not just receptacles... I would say to the lights on their own circuit and the receptacles on their own as well
Mooreski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2008, 04:08 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 104
Rewards Points: 0
Default

how much is too much for 15 amps


The rule of thumb I usually go by is nominal usage should run about 1/2 the circuit capacity. A quick rule of thumb estimation is 100 watts = 1amp. So a 15 amp circuit I will aim to have about 7-8 amps in nominal use. 100 watt lights would be about 8 per 15 amp. Receptacles I usually limit to 8-10 per circuit unless it is some special purpose like for a sump pump or work shop.
Bubbagump is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2008, 04:10 PM   #15
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Rewards Points: 0
Default

how much is too much for 15 amps


Quote:
Originally Posted by Bubbagump View Post
The rule of thumb I usually go by is nominal usage should run about 1/2 the circuit capacity. A quick rule of thumb estimation is 100 watts = 1amp. So a 15 amp circuit I will aim to have about 7-8 amps in nominal use. 100 watt lights would be about 8 per 15 amp. Receptacles I usually limit to 8-10 per circuit unless it is some special purpose like for a sump pump or work shop.
I limit my receptacles to about 100, but it all depends.

chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need to wire in appliance 240 volts, 42 amps ekulrenlig Electrical 31 08-12-2011 10:45 PM
Generator as sole power source NGuy Electrical 29 12-20-2008 12:29 AM
Max amps allowed - electrician advice needed Des Electrical 27 06-05-2008 10:31 PM
Question about sharing nuetral (as in 12/3) wire Piedmont Electrical 19 01-22-2008 08:39 PM
Amps vs wattage moneymgmt Electrical 8 05-30-2007 07:13 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.