Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-29-2008, 05:51 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: georgia
Posts: 292
Share |
Default

how many wires through a hole


How many wires (romex) are you allowed to pull through a hole in the top plate? Thanks

ugabulldog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2008, 07:45 PM   #2
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,772
Default

how many wires through a hole


Oh boy. Contentious issue.

Let's just say up to four cables (#14 thru #10) and you are clear of any derating issues that would restrict you.

To those thinking it, I know less than this requires derating, but not so much that it would require any action such as down sizing breakers or upsizing wire.

__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC. If you're on the '14 already I feel sorry for you.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2008, 08:05 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: georgia
Posts: 292
Default

how many wires through a hole


I have three #12 wires, just making sure I didn't need to drill another hole and re-pull wire.
ugabulldog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2008, 07:39 AM   #4
When is fishing season?
 
CowboyAndy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 613
Default

how many wires through a hole


Petey, does the size of the hole matter? I mean really, 4 10-2 cables through a 1/2 in hole aint happpenin physically, but if you could get them through, it wouldnt be a problem? This is one area I REALLY need to learn more about...
__________________
I DON'T OWN MY HOUSE...
MY HOUSE OWNS ME!
CowboyAndy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2008, 01:08 PM   #5
Power Gen/RS Engineer
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Oak Park, Illinois
Posts: 742
Default

how many wires through a hole


Quote:
Originally Posted by CowboyAndy View Post
Petey, does the size of the hole matter?
Most male electricians would say yes, while most woman electricians would disagree.

Sorry-There was NO WAY that I could resist!
__________________
Well, now, there's what's right and what's right and never the twain shall meet.
BigJimmy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2008, 02:15 PM   #6
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,772
Default

how many wires through a hole


Since Jimmy already stole the joke I'll have to give the serious answer.

No, there is no restriction as to hole size. Other than building codes that is.
The NEC does not care what size hole you drill.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC. If you're on the '14 already I feel sorry for you.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2008, 02:35 PM   #7
Licensed Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SC
Posts: 1,527
Default

how many wires through a hole


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
No, there is no restriction as to hole size. Other than building codes that is.
Just ask any plumber!
__________________
"Life is hard. Life is harder when you're stupid." John Wayne
HouseHelper is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2008, 11:47 PM   #8
liscenced electrician
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Oregon coast
Posts: 979
Default

how many wires through a hole


if you can physically fit it in a hole, your fine. Unless your talking about boring a 2 inch hole and running half your houses circuits through it, then youll get called on it
jimmy21 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2008, 05:36 AM   #9
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,772
Default

how many wires through a hole


Quote:
Originally Posted by jimmy21 View Post
if you can physically fit it in a hole, your fine. Unless your talking about boring a 2 inch hole and running half your houses circuits through it, then youll get called on it
Oh really? I have some certain text that says different.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC. If you're on the '14 already I feel sorry for you.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2008, 05:18 PM   #10
liscenced electrician
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Oregon coast
Posts: 979
Default

how many wires through a hole


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
Oh really? I have some certain text that says different.
technically your supposed to de-rate, but an inspector would be getting really nitpicky and i've never been called on it, or even have it be an issue. I did work with someone who would bore 2 inch holes all the way down a house, like i was saying and run like 10 12-2 through it, and the inspector really didn't like that
jimmy21 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2008, 08:30 PM   #11
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,772
Default

how many wires through a hole


Hey, I've never been called on it either, and I DID work for guys who would do just what you describe.
I just do what is right and I don't have to worry about it at all. If I do get called I like to know the code so I can either defend myself if I know I am right, or get red faced if I make a mistake.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC. If you're on the '14 already I feel sorry for you.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2008, 10:09 PM   #12
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Default

how many wires through a hole


Quote:
Originally Posted by CowboyAndy View Post
Petey, does the size of the hole matter? I mean really, 4 10-2 cables through a 1/2 in hole aint happpenin physically, but if you could get them through, it wouldnt be a problem? This is one area I REALLY need to learn more about...

The only problem is when you fire- or draft-stopped the hole, then 334.80 kicks in, of course this is only for type NM cables.
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2008, 10:39 AM   #13
$J0
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NJ USA
Posts: 5
Default

how many wires through a hole


Quote:
Originally Posted by ugabulldog View Post
I have three #12 wires, just making sure I didn't need to drill another hole and re-pull wire.
Put all in same hole. 7/8" would be fine. Too many wires in too small of a hole causes heat. Form of "bunching"
$J0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2008, 08:07 PM   #14
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 13
Default

how many wires through a hole


Derating is basically reducing the current carrying capacity of the wire because it will be subjected to too much heat right?

If you have to yank them through and risk damaging the outer jacket of the romex drill another hole.

Is there a code for this guys? I am an industrial/ commercial guy? Does the AHJ determine this ever?
Stavop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2008, 08:53 PM   #15
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,772
Default

how many wires through a hole


Quote:
Originally Posted by Stavop View Post
Is there a code for this guys?
Yes. It's all in Art. 334.

__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC. If you're on the '14 already I feel sorry for you.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to repair a hole in cast Iron pipe? bofusmosby Plumbing 26 11-13-2011 09:35 AM
replacing outlet with 3 white/3 black wires gpet573 Electrical 4 06-03-2008 02:55 PM
A Hole to Nowhere fw2007 Electrical 12 03-24-2008 10:28 AM
Two black wires with one white! Please help! ibs325 Electrical 15 11-18-2007 09:38 PM
Making an 8" hole in the brick Hushpuppy Building & Construction 6 11-28-2006 07:17 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.