Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-25-2008, 11:28 PM   #16
My License Ain't 4 Sale..
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 1,813
Share |
Default

How many wires in 1/2" conduit?


Quote:
Originally Posted by chris75 View Post
I agree and disagree. Its a proven fact that the conduit is a better ground then any wire pulled through it, I dont see a fitting just coming loose, its either tight or someone loosened it, but what ever, I always pull a EGC...
Yes, almost all line to case fault current travels along the conduit, even with an EGC. But I have seen personally, time after time after time how connectors and couplings never even get tightened in the first place. Or their set screws. It's like someone just stuck the pipe in the fitting and walked away. I have spied on journeymen tighten a connector to a box just hand tight, same with compression connectors and couplings. Never put a tool on it. Ridiculous.

InPhase277

InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2008, 02:57 PM   #17
Union Electrician
 
goose134's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Chicago, USA
Posts: 615
Default

How many wires in 1/2" conduit?


Quote:
goose, have you checked prices lately. die-cast were about 3 times the cost of the steel fitting a while back. Had a run of very poor quality steel fittings about 7 years ago. Kind of turned me off of them. The ones around here now are pretty good and I actually prefer them.
I had a feeling that pricing played into it. But if that were the only reason I think it would be more likely that the contractors would simply start using them. I think what I'm seeing is more and more architects specifying them. I do know that steel's grounding characteristics are superior to the die cast fittings. I think I must have run into the same batch as you did. The compression stuff is still iffy in my opinion.
goose134 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2008, 03:37 PM   #18
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Default

How many wires in 1/2" conduit?


Quote:
Originally Posted by InPhase277 View Post
Yes, almost all line to case fault current travels along the conduit, even with an EGC. But I have seen personally, time after time after time how connectors and couplings never even get tightened in the first place. Or their set screws. It's like someone just stuck the pipe in the fitting and walked away. I have spied on journeymen tighten a connector to a box just hand tight, same with compression connectors and couplings. Never put a tool on it. Ridiculous.

InPhase277
I agree 100% with your comment, the only prob I have is that I have seen some crappy splices as well... but lets face it, some people are just not cut out for this work.

chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Two black wires with one white! Please help! ibs325 Electrical 15 11-18-2007 09:38 PM
Conduit issues - help needed nymackem Electrical 19 11-05-2007 06:45 AM
Subpanel feeder questions Silhanek Electrical 4 03-22-2007 06:30 PM
Old house, new light fixture, too many wires Persephonee Electrical 3 01-15-2007 08:58 AM
conduit size and NEC stagger19 Electrical 4 08-20-2006 09:44 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.