Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-26-2012, 04:29 PM   #1
Wire Chewer
 
Red Squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,198
Share |
Default

How many volts, amps, watts? does it take to start a fire?


I setup a custom notification system for mouse traps and there is electricity running through them and when the circuit is broken, it triggers the notice.



The voltage is 5vdc and not sure of the current but it's very low. I'm just wondering, could a setup like that have any potential to start a fire? I can't see how, but I rather be safe than sorry. What does it really take for electricity to start a fire? I would imagine it takes quite a decent spark?

Red Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2012, 04:36 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,306
Default

How many volts, amps, watts? does it take to start a fire?


At only 5v there could only be the tinest of spark, if at all !
So if there is nothing combustable really close you should be ok !
At 5v it sounds like a logic level,
so if so the currents involved would be quite low.

dmxtothemax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2012, 04:50 PM   #3
Wire Chewer
 
Red Squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,198
Default

How many volts, amps, watts? does it take to start a fire?


Quote:
Originally Posted by dmxtothemax View Post
At only 5v there could only be the tinest of spark, if at all !
So if there is nothing combustable really close you should be ok !
At 5v it sounds like a logic level,
so if so the currents involved would be quite low.
Yeah it's logic level, it's going to an arduino board. There is also no path to ground available as it's just a return back to the board, so no way of it shorting out. The psu does have potention for quite a few amps though, it's a computer power supply. Should I look at fusing it perhaps? Not sure where I'd buy a fuse/fuse holder though. Could probably get away with like a 50ma fuse.
Red Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2012, 05:20 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: IL
Posts: 519
Default

How many volts, amps, watts? does it take to start a fire?


Put a 1000 ohm resistor in series with +5vdc at the source to limit current to 5mA
curiousB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2012, 06:02 PM   #5
Wire Chewer
 
Red Squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,198
Default

How many volts, amps, watts? does it take to start a fire?


Hmm yeah that should work never thought of that, I have a box with a few resistors in it think there may be a 1k or close one in there.
Red Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2012, 06:26 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 25,570
Default

How many volts, amps, watts? does it take to start a fire?


Red you sure must have a lot of free time on your hands to come up with this stuff.
joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to joecaption For This Useful Post:
Missouri Bound (10-26-2012)
Old 10-26-2012, 07:18 PM   #7
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Default

How many volts, amps, watts? does it take to start a fire?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Red Squirrel View Post
I setup a custom notification system for mouse traps

The smell of a trap gone unnoticed it usually enough notification...
__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2012, 07:23 PM   #8
Wire Chewer
 
Red Squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,198
Default

How many volts, amps, watts? does it take to start a fire?


Quote:
Originally Posted by joecaption View Post
Red you sure must have a lot of free time on your hands to come up with this stuff.
It actual saves me time considering I have to vacuum the whole room every time I open the attic hatch to check manually.

Mice flash frozen at -30 surprisingly do not smell like anything. That seems to be when I get them the most. Though I've already caught like 5 so far and there's not even any snow on the ground yet. It's late again this year.

Last edited by Red Squirrel; 10-26-2012 at 07:26 PM.
Red Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2012, 07:49 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Md/Pa
Posts: 918
Default

How many volts, amps, watts? does it take to start a fire?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Red Squirrel View Post
Mice flash frozen at -30 surprisingly do not smell like anything.
So you also have a CO2 extinguisher that gives a shot when a trap is tripped.
zappa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2012, 07:53 PM   #10
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,346
Default

How many volts, amps, watts? does it take to start a fire?


Put a fuse in line instead of a resistor. 5VDC with enough current behind it could most certainly start a fire.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2012, 08:44 PM   #11
Wire Chewer
 
Red Squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,198
Default

How many volts, amps, watts? does it take to start a fire?


Quote:
Originally Posted by zappa View Post
So you also have a CO2 extinguisher that gives a shot when a trap is tripped.
That could work too, but when it's -30 and an animal that size dies it does not take long for it to freeze.

Actually I just dispose of them in the trash, I only noticed a smell when I had 4 of em in there, then I changed out the trash, but it could have also been the onions that were rotting. Mice seem to just dry up.

And I'll go with the fuse idea then if that's better. Where would I find such low amperage fuse? I'm probably worrying for nothing considering some people have illegal live 120vac wires in their walls at times without proper junction box and don't get a fire, but I rather play it safe.
Red Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2012, 09:49 PM   #12
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,346
Default

How many volts, amps, watts? does it take to start a fire?


Any one of these options will work. Napa, pep boys, or car audio installers should have have them. Google 'inline fuse' to find online.


__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2012, 11:45 PM   #13
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Default

How many volts, amps, watts? does it take to start a fire?


Seem like you need to find a way to keep the critters out rather than killing them when they get in. Mice will always go to where the food is...what do you keep in your attic?
__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2012, 02:24 AM   #14
Wire Chewer
 
Red Squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,198
Default

How many volts, amps, watts? does it take to start a fire?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Missouri Bound View Post
Seem like you need to find a way to keep the critters out rather than killing them when they get in. Mice will always go to where the food is...what do you keep in your attic?
Yeah working on trying to figure out how they're getting in. This is a temp solution, and once I do figure out, it will stay up there regardless just in case. I actually hate having to kill animals but these guys can also burn my house down if they really want to. Something about that tasty copper center those big chewy wires have.

At this point I'm just blindly blocking any random hole I can find around the house. There's a few where I think they may had been coming in through, assuming there's an opening inside the wall in the attic space.
Red Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2012, 03:39 AM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Md/Pa
Posts: 918
Default

How many volts, amps, watts? does it take to start a fire?


I hate mice and I'm always fighting them in my trailer and equipment. Last weekend one built a nest so deep inside of my central heater that I had to bring it home and disassemble it to get everything out.

zappa is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Furnace won't fire, exhaust fan hot and won't start tex800 HVAC 14 10-08-2010 06:48 PM
Cold weather is here, looks like time to start a fire Scuba_Dave Off Topic 78 10-03-2010 10:21 PM
plywood on fire rated wall acerunner Building & Construction 7 09-06-2010 01:44 PM
why wouldn't circuit breaker prevent fire? fauer Electrical 26 11-28-2008 08:38 PM
DIY electrical work questions for finishing a basement. mac41099 Electrical 7 11-16-2007 07:59 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.