Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-18-2012, 11:22 PM   #16
Member
 
kevinp22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Saint Louis, MO
Posts: 323
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

How Many Receptacles on a 20amp circuit?


Quote:
Originally Posted by gfink View Post
In one of our bathrooms, the GFI is in the laundry room that feeds the bathroom. It is a 15amp circuit. In another bathroom, the GFI is in the garage, also a 15 amp circuit. Is it different for 20 amp circuits?
no, it is not differemt. this doesnt meet current code. may or may not have been okay at thetime of installation.

kevinp22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2012, 08:07 AM   #17
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 0
Default

How Many Receptacles on a 20amp circuit?


Quote:
Originally Posted by kevinp22 View Post
no, it is not differemt. this doesnt meet current code. may or may not have been okay at thetime of installation.
Thanks Kevin. We have 4 bathrooms and 3 are done this way - must have been code in 95-96. In another house I owned, built in 2003, the outlets are on the same circuit for all bathrooms. Lights and fans are seperate circuits but are shared with outlets and lights in adjentcent bedrooms. That's way I asked if I could have outlets from an adjentcent room shared with the outlets in just one bath. I have used "pros" for many projects over the years. Sometimes their work is good but too many times it is not. Whether I hire a pro or not - I still like to know the correct way so I can challenge the "pro" to do it right. I'm a DYI at heart.
gfink is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to gfink For This Useful Post:
kevinp22 (05-19-2012)
Old 05-19-2012, 08:15 AM   #18
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 0
Default

How Many Receptacles on a 20amp circuit?


Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post
Florida is not a country of its own. Your answer to how many receptacles on a 20 amp. As many as you want. If you want a hundred, you can put that many on there. The real question that you should be asking, is what is the maximum amount of wattage that you can load a circuit, not how many receptacles.
Gee, thanks for the tip on Florida - I didn't know that . I aready know the answer on the wattage so that is way I didn't ask.... Funny, I thought this was a DIY forum to share help, knowledge and experiences

gfink is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Changing a 3 way circuit...using recessed lighting box as a junction box? Oxymoron Electrical 1 12-07-2009 06:46 PM
Two Different Wire gages on Same Circuit OK? Lovegasoline Electrical 5 12-02-2009 05:00 PM
Arc Fault Break Tripping when any light switch turned on elab1 Electrical 60 11-20-2009 01:24 PM
Wiring a single pole switch into a 220v circuit rlmorgan Electrical 38 10-15-2008 07:59 PM
Recessed Lighting - How many per 20amp circuit dcd22 Electrical 10 08-27-2007 05:36 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.