Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-11-2012, 03:45 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1
Share |
Default

How many outlets exist on a given circuit


Howdy,
I'm not an electrician, not going to do any electrical work. I'm trying to determine whether I need to have an electrician come in and add more circuits or if I can just be smart about my current resources. This is in an existing commercial building, that has had several remodels done to the interior. I want to know if we are under-wired (if thats the correct term). So the questions I have are:

1. Is there a way to determine what outlets exist on the same circuit without throwing the breaker and plugging something in to each outlet on the floor?

2. Is it watts or amps that I count for total consumption on a circuit to make sure I'm not overloaded? If so, how many of whatever measurement should I limit each circuit to?

Sorry if the nomenclature is bad. I'll try to clear up if I have misspoken.

gcdcpakmbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2012, 04:02 PM   #2
MarginallyQualified
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Winston-Salem NC
Posts: 3,647
Default

How many outlets exist on a given circuit


Quote:
Originally Posted by gcdcpakmbs View Post
I'm trying to determine whether I need to have an electrician come in and add more circuits...This is in an existing commercial building...
commercial uses have a limit of # of outlets per circuit.
therefore... expect to add circuits is you need more outlets

Quote:
1. Is there a way to determine what outlets exist on the same circuit without throwing the breaker... Not really.

2. Is it watts or amps that I count for total consumption on a circuit to make sure I'm not overloaded? watts/outlet @volts = amps

TarheelTerp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2012, 04:23 PM   #3
retired elect/hvac/plumb
 
plummen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south east of omaha/The island of misfit contractors
Posts: 2,882
Default

How many outlets exist on a given circuit


What is the building being used for?
That would be the deciding factor for amount of power/number of plugs needed.
Last time i checked there was no minimum number of plugs required in a commercial room or bay other than a plug under service panel if thats all youre using
plummen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2012, 08:09 PM   #4
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,772
Default

How many outlets exist on a given circuit


Quote:
Originally Posted by plummen View Post
........... other than a plug under service panel if thats all youre using
A receptacle under a panel is NOT required. It's just very common.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC. If you're on the '14 already I feel sorry for you.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2012, 09:44 PM   #5
retired elect/hvac/plumb
 
plummen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south east of omaha/The island of misfit contractors
Posts: 2,882
Default

How many outlets exist on a given circuit


Thats the fi8rst place our inspectors always look for a plug whether its an unfinished basement or an open bay,maybe its just the easiest/most obvious place to install one.
plummen is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Best tools and efficient method for identifying outlets on a circuit, please. justplumducky Electrical 9 07-08-2012 09:27 AM
Do self grounding 110V receptacles really work? noquacks Electrical 50 05-25-2011 07:57 AM
Open circuit has power, close the circuit no power??? BeginnerHomeDIY Electrical 7 07-08-2009 02:40 PM
hooking up dryer....bronx ny code SURFBUG Appliances 6 10-14-2008 09:41 PM
outlets work, but barely (?) joeyboy Electrical 7 08-27-2008 08:37 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.