Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-12-2007, 04:53 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

How many outlets can you put on a switch?


I have a collection of antique beer advertising signs, all flourescent, about 15 total. Small ones like you'd see in a store window. I'd like to wire them so they all light with one switch in my garage. Is this within code? If not, what is the best way to do it? Would like to do it properly so if ever there was a problem it would not be a legal liability. Thanks for any help............. Phil

Phil_usa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2007, 05:33 PM   #2
Electrician philosopher
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Lilburn, GA
Posts: 838
Rewards Points: 500
Default

How many outlets can you put on a switch?


It is within code assuming fifteen flourescents won't overload the circuit.

Andy in ATL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2007, 06:03 PM   #3
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

How many outlets can you put on a switch?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy in ATL View Post
It is within code assuming fifteen flourescents won't overload the circuit.
Even if they do, where is the violation?
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2007, 07:26 PM   #4
Electrician philosopher
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Lilburn, GA
Posts: 838
Rewards Points: 500
Default

How many outlets can you put on a switch?


210.23
Andy in ATL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2007, 07:58 PM   #5
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

How many outlets can you put on a switch?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy in ATL View Post
210.23
I figured you would site that one, pretty hard to enforce on a homeowner, eh?
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2007, 08:02 PM   #6
Union Electrician
 
goose134's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Chicago, USA
Posts: 615
Rewards Points: 500
Default

How many outlets can you put on a switch?


Remember that the load should be calculated on the ballast draw, NOT the lamp wattage. If there are too many for one circuit, you could still do it on one switch using a two-pole, single throw switch.
goose134 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2007, 08:10 PM   #7
Electrician philosopher
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Lilburn, GA
Posts: 838
Rewards Points: 500
Default

How many outlets can you put on a switch?


Quote:
Originally Posted by chris75 View Post
I figured you would site that one, pretty hard to enforce on a homeowner, eh?
Of course it is! The OP asked a code question, though.
Andy in ATL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2007, 06:55 AM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

How many outlets can you put on a switch?


Why I asked the question.......... down the line if there were a problem in the garage.... fire etc. even not related to this, I didn't want there to be a loophole in insurance because I wired up the signs in error. Just looking for the right way to do this. Also, some of the signs had incandescent bulbs that were replaced with flourescent screw in bulbs, so not all have ballasts, if that helps any.........Thanks for the replies guys................
Phil_usa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2007, 08:40 PM   #9
Union Electrician
 
goose134's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Chicago, USA
Posts: 615
Rewards Points: 500
Default

How many outlets can you put on a switch?


Post a picture of the collection. I'm hoping you have one of those Hamm's signs that scroll through mountain scenery. THE coolest sign ever.

goose134 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring double switch for new ceiling fan toolmanwannabe Electrical 17 11-15-2011 09:34 PM
3 way switch help imintrouble Electrical 8 12-13-2007 02:54 PM
Basic Switch wiring question; Dimmer to Toggle switch (Pictures included) inspectator Electrical 8 08-07-2007 01:19 AM
Hot Light Outlets Materials Guru Electrical 5 07-31-2006 07:11 PM
Detached garage adding a 3 way switch. Slatherd Electrical 4 01-02-2006 02:53 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.