Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-12-2007, 08:54 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 32
Rewards Points: 25
Default

How many outlet on a circuit


I would like to know how many outlets you can have on one circuit?

Why I ask this is I am redoing my basement and want to put 10 outlet in one room and that would be one circuit.

I will be useing 12-2 wire, am I safe by doing this?
Althrough not all of them would be in use at the same time, there is one thing I HATE and that is you have a outlet half way across the room when you need one.

Rifeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2007, 09:40 AM   #2
Member
 
jproffer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Chester, IL
Posts: 1,300
Rewards Points: 506
Default

How many outlet on a circuit


There's no limit to the number of receptacles you can put on a residential circuit. If you're using 12-2, you may as well use a 20A breaker (if you weren't anyway).

Spacing is every 12 feet along the perimeter of the room. At least one on each side of a door. If a wall is less than...hmm ...2 feet (I think, a pro will know for sure) you are not required (even though it may not be a bad idea) to have a receptacle on it.

jproffer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2007, 10:34 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 32
Rewards Points: 25
Default

How many outlet on a circuit


I am a beliver in put the outlets at 6 feet and no more than 8 feet, this way you always have on at hand.

How many times have you went to use one and it is so far away that you had to get a extention cord ( nothing wrong with the cord ) but it is so much handler to have a outlet at hand.

I would like to thank-you for your help and it means a great deal to me.


Quote:
Originally Posted by jproffer View Post
There's no limit to the number of receptacles you can put on a residential circuit. If you're using 12-2, you may as well use a 20A breaker (if you weren't anyway).

Spacing is every 12 feet along the perimeter of the room. At least one on each side of a door. If a wall is less than...hmm ...2 feet (I think, a pro will know for sure) you are not required (even though it may not be a bad idea) to have a receptacle on it.
Rifeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2007, 10:55 AM   #4
Member
 
jproffer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Chester, IL
Posts: 1,300
Rewards Points: 506
Default

How many outlet on a circuit


Most appliance and lamp cords are 6 feet, which is why 12 ft is the minimum. Of course closer does no harm.
jproffer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2007, 11:19 AM   #5
Power Gen/RS Engineer
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Oak Park, Illinois
Posts: 751
Rewards Points: 500
Default

How many outlet on a circuit


Number of outlets? Per the NEC, each receptacle is assumed to carry a load of 180VA (per strap). Assuming a 20A branch circuit operating at 120VAC nominal, you could have 13 receptacles on the circuit. If these are to be located in an unfinished basement then according to 210.8(A)(5), GFCI protection is required. Spacing is according to 210.52(A)(1) which says (in general) that they should be placed so that no point in the wall space (measured along the floor line) is > 6ft. from a receptacle.
__________________
Well, now, there's what's right and what's right and never the twain shall meet.
BigJimmy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2007, 11:53 AM   #6
Member
 
jproffer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Chester, IL
Posts: 1,300
Rewards Points: 506
Default

How many outlet on a circuit


Quote:
Number of outlets? Per the NEC, each receptacle is assumed to carry a load of 180VA (per strap). Assuming a 20A branch circuit operating at 120VAC nominal, you could have 13 receptacles on the circuit.
Residential doesn't have the requirement of 180Va per device.

Quote:
which says (in general) that they should be placed so that no point in the wall space (measured along the floor line) is > 6ft. from a receptacle.
Which is 12 feet
jproffer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2007, 12:10 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 32
Rewards Points: 25
Default

How many outlet on a circuit


So if I understand you right I can put them any where from 6' to 12' apart. Please set me stright if I missed understood you?
Rifeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2007, 12:25 PM   #8
Member
 
jproffer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Chester, IL
Posts: 1,300
Rewards Points: 506
Default

How many outlet on a circuit


You can put them anywhere from 0-12 feet apart, their is no minimum...if you want a receptacle every 6" along your wall, that's your business. And what BigJimmy said is correct, it's actually 6 feet along the wall. And since most cords have the cord coming out of the end at 90 to the wall, you would have to be a little under 12 feet to account for making the "curve" in the cord. So say 11 feet to be safe.

But to clear up the # question. There is NO limit according to the NEC in residential wiring. You can, albeit a bad idea, put 100 receptacles on one circuit. The only requirement is common sense. Also, the 80% requirement doesn't apply to residential. So, like I said, the only requirement is common sense.

When the breaker trips, it's time to stop....Of course, I'm joking .

EDIT: BTW, I'm not trying to be argumentative, but that's the code as I read it. Also, local codes vary greatly, so check first at YOUR local code office, city hall, etc.

Last edited by jproffer; 03-12-2007 at 12:46 PM.
jproffer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2007, 12:47 PM   #9
Power Gen/RS Engineer
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Oak Park, Illinois
Posts: 751
Rewards Points: 500
Default

How many outlet on a circuit


Quote:
Originally Posted by jproffer View Post
Residential doesn't have the requirement of 180Va per device.
I stand corrected! Sorry for the misinformation!
__________________
Well, now, there's what's right and what's right and never the twain shall meet.
BigJimmy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2007, 12:38 AM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

How many outlet on a circuit


For arguments sake, do they count the number of receptacles as 1 duplex outlet as 1 outlet, or would that be 2 outlets??

So would one count a duplex outlet (2 plug in receptacles) as 1 or 2?

Just wondering. I am wiring my new house this week and someone said that 10 should be my max number of outlets per run with (12-2)
ghostrider20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2007, 05:38 AM   #11
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,867
Rewards Points: 2,038
Default

How many outlet on a circuit


Ahhh. The dreaded "someone said". Be careful with this, and be sure when someone tell you things like this to get some sort of code section to confirm it.

The 180va per device is for each single or multiple receptacle on one yoke. Like was said, this rule DOES NOT apply to residential applications. There MAY local rules that override this NEC rule though.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2009, 12:29 AM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

How many outlet on a circuit


Can I put a ceiling fan/light as well as 7 outlets on the same 15A circuit? I am remodeling my house and trying to sort out 100 years of add ons and differnt types of wiring without having to tear into the walls too much. My first thought was to put each room on its own circuit with new wire of course. This is a living room and will typically have a lamp or two, the TV and maybe the ceiling fan running at once. We will probably not use the light on the ceiling fan too much.
iskibumi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2009, 11:49 AM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,508
Rewards Points: 2,004
Default

How many outlet on a circuit


Sure you can. And your idea to supply each room with a circuit is fine too. However, some people prefer to put the overhead lighting fixtures on a different circuit. Do you know what code cycle your area is using. You should check this out. If your on the 2008 code cycle, there are some things you should be aware of.

J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Conflicting Circuit Info!?? BenBil Electrical 9 01-15-2007 08:26 AM
So lost - electrical requirements please help lapsis9 HVAC 4 12-20-2006 08:09 PM
20a Outlet Vs. 15a Outlet bobo Electrical 3 05-29-2006 10:55 PM
wiring a gfci outlet in circuit bobo Electrical 12 08-31-2005 08:38 PM
European 220V outlet "Schuko" estophile Electrical 6 08-27-2005 08:45 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.