How Many Circuts, 2 Rooms - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-07-2006, 02:26 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 45
Rewards Points: 25
Default

how many circuts, 2 rooms


turned 2 rooms into one big one. it will be living room, dining room. planning on 6 or 7 recessed lights and 2 cieling fans. as many recepticles as needed. im not sure what kind of load im dealing with here, doesnt seem like much though. tv, stereo, dvd, dvr... fishtank, filters, lights... will one circut be enough for the lighting? how many recepticles per circut? thanks

Advertisement

jamesdart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2006, 02:33 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,861
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

how many circuts, 2 rooms


I like to see the answer to this one as well as I am doing electrical for my basement right now. But I think generally, you will separate lighting with recepcles i.e, in your case, you need at least 2 circuit, one for lighting and one for receipcle....

the reason to separate them is receipcle has unpredictable load, someone putting into a heavy machine and running it etc.. if it is same circuit with lighting, it may bring down and you don't see anything, or anytime that someone turn on the machine, your lights suddenly goes a little bit dimmer for a second, just not professional feeling...

I myself intend to hook up 24 cans (recessed lights) for one circuit, don't know if this is too much, but if I do the math, 24 * 60W = 1440W < 110 * 14 A... therefore should be OK, and I use those 15w light bulb only, so should be no problem at all... I will wait to see what the inspector has to say though...

Advertisement

KUIPORNG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2006, 03:59 PM   #3
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,904
Rewards Points: 2,162
Default

how many circuts, 2 rooms


James, I would run three circuits.
First off you MUST use a 20 amp circuit for the receptacles in the DR, and they may not share a circuit with any rooms other than "kitchen related" rooms.
The due to the number of lights I would also do one for lighting and one for receptacles.

I am not of the school of though that you do not mix lighting and receptacles, "Because if a breaker trips you are in the dark". I feel this is an extremist view. It is old school thinking.
It is rare in newer homes for breakers to trip anyway, especially if there are only a few receptacles on a circuit.
Also, are there no other lights in the house? If the lights in one room go out is there no other residual lighting form other areas?

I base these decisions typically on the type of room and number of lights and receptacles.




KUI****G, you CANNOT use 60w, or whatever size lamp you will be using, to determine total wattage. You MUST use the maximum wattage allowed by the fixture. So using typical recessed lights with a max of 75 watts you are at 1800 watts.
Also, we use 120v in figuring ampreage, not 110v.

There is NO WAY I'd put 24 recessed lights on one circuit.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2006, 04:24 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,861
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

how many circuts, 2 rooms


I guess 20 recessed should be fine then?

as 20 * 75 = 1500 which is less than 120 * 15 = 1800

that should be ok for the inspector then... Right...

well there are three smoke detectors and 1 carbo monoxide detector on the same circuit as well, but I thought these should be insignificant to add to the formula.

Please let me know if this is still a problem...

Thank You
KUIPORNG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2006, 04:50 PM   #5
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,904
Rewards Points: 2,162
Default

how many circuts, 2 rooms


I'd still run two 15 amp circuits.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2006, 05:38 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 682
Rewards Points: 500
Default

how many circuts, 2 rooms


Kui****g, Code minimum means "supposed to be safe" it does not mean "practicle" or "will work well".

The code says you can put as many lights on that circuit as you want. I always do the math and consider the lights to be continous load. That means that I only load to 80 percent. So a 15 amp circuit can only be loaded to 12 amps. That is 1440 watts. Divide by 70 watts and you get 19 lights on that circuit.

Check the rating of you dimmers and do not load them beyond 80 percent either.

For you system I would divided the circuit in half and run two 15 amp circuits.
jwhite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2006, 05:44 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 682
Rewards Points: 500
Default

how many circuts, 2 rooms


James, One half of your big room is dining room.. This part needs to be on a 20 amp rec circuit. The recs should be spaced so that no point on the wall measured along the wall lines is more than 6 foot from a rec.

The same wall measurements apply in the living room, but these outlets can be on with the lighting and can be on a 15 amp circuit. Read my post above about safe vs practicle.

Per code there is no limit to the number of recs or lights you can put on these circuits. I would run one 15 amp circuit for the lights in both rooms, one 15 amp circuit for the living room recs and one 20 amp circuit for the recs in the dining room.
jwhite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2006, 05:48 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 45
Rewards Points: 25
Default

how many circuts, 2 rooms


ok, i was planning on one circut for the lighting, and i figured 2 for the rooms, but was wondering if just one would do it. my 100 panel is full, bu i know i will be pulling some stuff out in the renovation.

Advertisement

jamesdart is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Outside corners to two different baseboard rooms cygnusx1 Flooring 6 03-04-2009 06:58 PM
Joining carpet and ceramic tile rooms TedT Flooring 10 05-21-2008 09:25 PM
? about 70's cape and how to open rooms angelonbreak Remodeling 3 04-25-2007 08:59 AM
No Electricity In Some Rooms bjp Electrical 6 10-13-2006 10:32 AM
92V AC in two rooms david_winters Electrical 1 12-11-2005 04:33 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts